With cordite in the air, splintered steel, shell casings and powder burns, there’s only one explanation...
Game server information & questions.

Moderators: Joe Kari, Pardner, TheDoctor

Server-Scripts

Postby Yunus67 » Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:34 pm

Hi all!

I am the admin of the new ^Dk^Server^ and I wanna know how to create a own server-script.
I want to control more things on my server for example.
-Weapon prices
-Allowed and forbidden weapons
-Kick-Message-changer
and something like this...

I know how to create a own script for normal clients for example
Code: Select all
set nextdemo "vstr demo1"
set demo1 "record demo1; set nextdemo vstr stop1; echo demo1 recordin!"
.
.

But I think that serverscripts look a bit different...
Can you please explain me.
Yunus67
Drifter
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:50 pm



Re: Server-Scripts

Postby Pardner » Wed Jan 12, 2011 7:55 pm

Yunus67 wrote:I want to control more things on my server for example.
-Weapon prices
-Allowed and forbidden weapons
-Kick-Message-changer
and something like this...

These things are not controlled by a script. You would need to run a server side mod like the ones running on Baller Bude and Special Bude. This would require modifications to the game code and compiling new qvms. There is some information in this thread on how to make a tnt only server, or you could contact TheDoctor for information on the mods he runs on BB and SB.

Yunus67 wrote:I know how to create a own script for normal clients for example
Code: Select all
set nextdemo "vstr demo1"
set demo1 "record demo1; set nextdemo vstr stop1; echo demo1 recordin!"
.
.

But I think that serverscripts look a bit different...
Can you please explain me.

I am not sure what you mean and want to accomplish. Do you want to have the server record demos like on SB and BB server? If so, again this is a modification that TheDoctor as done and is not something that is standard in a Smokin Guns server. Your best bet would be to contact TheDoctor and see if he can give you some help.

Image
Image
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA



Postby Yunus67 » Thu Jan 13, 2011 4:30 pm

Thank you!

But I want to show you with the script wich kind of script I mean.
Thank you anyway ;)
^Dk^Clansite^
Serveradmin of ^Dk^Server^
Yunus67
Drifter
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:50 pm



Postby Pardner » Thu Jan 13, 2011 4:52 pm

Well, like I mentioned before. Most of what you want to do cannot be done through server-side scripts.

For an example of a working server side script look at
*/Smokin Guns/smokinguns/server.cfg

This is pretty much the exact server script that RAWHIDE and other server are currently running. To launch a dedicated sever, just add the following to the game shortcut:
Code: Select all
smokinguns.exe +set dedicated 2 +exec server.cfg
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA



Postby Yunus67 » Fri Jan 14, 2011 7:28 pm

Hi all again...

I have some problems:

1)
If I use my mod in my server and other people wants to connect to it they get an error (UI CREATE FAIL / or something like this).

2)
I try to disable some weapons and if the clients want to buy them they should get a central print "Weapon not allowed!"...
But if I add this command it don't shows a central print...

3)
I disable all weapons without the knife...
But I get only a problem with sawedoff shotgun (WP_SHOTGUN).
It gets buyable (I set the damage 0 so that don't really matter) but I don't want this!

Best regards
Yunus67
^Dk^Clansite^
Serveradmin of ^Dk^Server^
Yunus67
Drifter
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:50 pm



Postby Pardner » Fri Jan 14, 2011 8:02 pm

Yunus67 wrote:1)
If I use my mod in my server and other people wants to connect to it they get an error (UI CREATE FAIL / or something like this).


If you modify anything in the UI or CGAME code, your clients will have to run the mod as well. The only code you can change to make a compatible server side mod is in the GAME. Like wise, when you compile new qvms, the only one that you can package into a pk3 is the qagame.qvm
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA




Return to Telegraph Station

Show Sidebar
Show Sidebar

User Control Panel

cron