With cordite in the air, splintered steel, shell casings and powder burns, there’s only one explanation...
Discuss & improve the game engine.

Moderators: sparcdr, torhu, Tequila

[Mageia] Linux x86_64 support

Postby Mazter » Wed Apr 09, 2014 8:52 am

Hi,

I'm a developer of Mageia Linux and I'm packaging Smokin' Guns. Packages are ready but the game crashes after launching on x86_64 with this error:
Code: Select all
ERROR: opStack corrupted in compiled code (offset 4)
----- Client Shutdown (recursive error after: opStack corrupted in compiled code (offset 4)) -----

Doing some googleing this error seems to only occur on x86_64 systems with ioQuake3 engines. The only reference I found about this was a bug report for Fedora and tremulous with this same error.

The ioquake3 binary works, so if this error can't be fixed soon I could make mageia packages use ioquake3 as the binaries for the game. If that's the case, is this setup supported ? I mean, is Smokin' Guns officially supported on a vanilla ioquake3 engine ?
Mazter
Mazter
Drifter

Re: [Mageia] Linux x86_64 support

Postby Tequila » Wed Apr 09, 2014 10:38 am

Howdy Matzer,

nice to here about your goal !

Actually having RPM packaging support is one of my own goal for Smokin'Guns. So can you point us to your work on the spec file so I can include it in our sources providing you the credits ? But still a big THANK YOU for your involving and Mageia support try !

If you want to build a native x86_64 binary for Smokin'Guns, I would advise you to directly build it using our most up-to-date toward ioquake3 branch on GitHub: https://github.com/smokin-guns/SmokinGuns.git
I made the ioq3-synchro branch the default only one or two weeks ago.
This branch supports mostly Smokin'Guns 1.1 but may still be buggy so you'll have to tag it somewhere as 1.2dev.

Actually, the ioQ3 engine may work as this, but this branch would still be best than just ioQ3 engine.