With cordite in the air, splintered steel, shell casings and powder burns, there’s only one explanation...
For all you mappers out there!

Moderators: Joe Kari, Pardner, TheDoctor, Breli

Modelling in 3DStudio Max + Level Idea (Steampunk Airship)

Postby Darkweaver » Sun Apr 25, 2010 5:57 pm

hey guys. i have a copy of 3DStudioMax 2010, which i am quite competant with, however, i was wondering if there are any file formats that i can save to that will open within the program you guys use.

i am a fairly competant modeller (and a semi-competant texture artist) and will have a gap year this next educational year (september 2010 - july 2011) and id like to spend it working on SG, since ive been playing it for a couple of years now (and had a forum account for about a year, even if i rarely use it)

i mentioned a level idea i had AGES ago, and want to finally get around to working on it, but since i cant yet use Radient, since its layout is so vastly different from Maya and 3DSMax (the two programs i'm used to) i want to know if theres any common formats i can work to that i can import.

The idea i had was to model an Airship. with a heavy Steampunk feel to it. basically including multiple interior floors, an open deck on the rear end, and gangwalks on the open sides so players can get around the ship on the exterior. maybe including some new models for the existing weapons to give them a more Steampunk feel to match the map (although this is less likely to be done)

Cheers Guys,

Rob
SG Name: Cassidy
Preferred Weapons: Peacemaker, Scoped Sharps Rifle, Throwing knives
Preferred Character: Clint
Darkweaver
Pistolero

Postby Pardner » Sun Apr 25, 2010 7:07 pm