With cordite in the air, splintered steel, shell casings and powder burns, there’s only one explanation...
Let's face it, SG could sure use some talented modellers.

Moderator: Joe Kari

new Indian-players

Postby !NuB!Donut » Tue Oct 19, 2010 11:11 pm

I have worked on indian players for SG.
Here you can see the result.

Image Image Image Image


I hope you like them you can download them here

How to install them:
# Copy the sg_pak0.pk3 to to your Smokin'Guns installation folder. (On Windows, the path could be "C:\Program Files\Smokin' Guns\smokinguns) but save you old sg_pak0.pk3 before somewhere els.
# and enjoy them.

How to delete them:
Just paste your old sg_pak0.pk3 over the new one

WARNING:
If you use them they will delate "Tuco" (the bot and his model)
If you use them you wont be able to play online

Furtermore i have some questoins.
1. Is it possible to add more players to sg in future versions (I mean is ther any way to make more players whisout overwriting the old one)
2. Waht do you thing about my work? Do you like it? Do you don't like it?

I will make two more Indian players (i thought somthing like this Indian http://www.indianahumanities.org/wethepeople/203/Indian_Chief_with_Head_Dress.jpg) if they will ever get added to the game. So i will start with them when i know the awnser becouse i don't whant to wast my time.

So pleas feel free and post your feedback below 8)
Last edited by !NuB!Donut on Wed Oct 27, 2010 11:05 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
!NuB!Donut
SG Team
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:57 pm
Location: Germany



Postby ^SDE^Evans » Tue Oct 19, 2010 11:43 pm

cool!

what else do you think of a "plume" to head? :D
or if it could be like Hawkeye (character in the game DESPERADOS 2)
I hurt myself today (8)
User avatar
^SDE^Evans
Shootist
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 2:24 pm
Location: Brazil



Postby /dev/random » Tue Oct 19, 2010 11:48 pm

You don't need to edit the original sg_pak0.pk3. Just create new content, put it in a pk3 and give it a name which is alphabetically after the pk3 you want to replace, i.e. zzzzz_indian.pk3.
You can very well create new skins and models without replacing exisiting ones, spy at how the default files are structured. Iirc someone posted a "Blacksmith" model, just look how he did it ;)
User avatar
/dev/random
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:58 pm



Postby ReD NeCKersoN » Wed Oct 20, 2010 2:52 am

Encouraging to see someone learning. I'm guessing you merely applied a new skin to an existing model? That last screenshot looks pretty odd. Not a bad first try!

My advice is to do what /dev/random suggests by not overwriting previously released content. Then practice, so that your models/skins look at least as good as what shipped with SG 1.0

Link to the BLACKSMITH thread.
Image
User avatar
ReD NeCKersoN
SG Team
 
Posts: 3245
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2002 6:22 am
Location: VA, USA



Postby !NuB!Donut » Wed Oct 20, 2010 7:27 pm

So i tried to build a new pk3 file but actually it dont work mybe someone can take a look at my tryes (http://www.filefactory.com/file/b3ga87b/n/MangasColoradas_NOT_WORKING.zip) I hope someone can help me.

I decided to call this new player MangasColoradas (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mangas_Coloradas)


I'm guessing you merely applied a new skin to an existing model?
I have made some small changes on the head but I'm not able to cange anything on the upper or on the lower because they have animations.

or if it could be like Hawkeye (character in the game DESPERADOS 2)
Nice idea but it's quite hard (for me) to bulid a good looking head md3 model whis long hairs.

Moreover i have got a question again is it possible to hav more then four players for choice in BR-mode?
Image
User avatar
!NuB!Donut
SG Team
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:57 pm
Location: Germany



Postby Pardner » Wed Oct 20, 2010 8:43 pm

!NuB!Donut wrote:Moreover i have got a question again is it possible to hav more then four players for choice in BR-mode?
Image


Yeah... you stumbled into a issue pointed out by ChainLightnin', Red, hika, and sig11 way back when (here). It might be worth making a scroll menu for the skin selection, or maybe adding another two model spaces in the current window.
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA



Postby Lon' » Thu Oct 21, 2010 5:51 am

the new version will really have an idian?

it will be nice!


^SDE^CLAN
SDE CLAN WEB
Last edited by Lon' on Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:29 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Lon'
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 4:41 am
Location: Brazil - BA



Postby /dev/random » Thu Oct 21, 2010 4:40 pm

Try this. For some reason, the hat is still being displayed, not sure whether it's my fault.
User avatar
/dev/random
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:58 pm



Postby !NuB!Donut » Thu Oct 21, 2010 11:51 pm

So first some picturs of my next player model (the texturs are not finished by now)
Image Image Image

Try this. For some reason, the hat is still being displayed, not sure whether it's my fault.

First thank you for this working pk3 i think the i will need some prctice and about 324252385723498234 tries :D an then it might work with the head. (But actually i can't work when the head-model isn't inside the pk3)

the new version will really have an idian?
I hope so and mybe some more of them 8) XD
User avatar
!NuB!Donut
SG Team
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:57 pm
Location: Germany



Postby !NuB!Donut » Sun Oct 24, 2010 8:00 pm

I have some big problems.
My new made head model don`t work i always get this error
Image

And i build a weapon model of a remington 1875 and overwrite the old ramington '58 (but just for tests). And i get the same error like the one I get for the head.
Image Image Image

My model of the 1875 has no animations right now and I'm a totaly beginner in modeling. So if somebody knows a tutorial how to animate a md3 models or how to make weapons for Q3 pleas send me the link.

Furthermore i have finished the textures for the next indian but i'm not able to schow them to you cuz of the bugs i get.
User avatar
!NuB!Donut
SG Team
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:57 pm
Location: Germany



Postby !NuB!Donut » Mon Oct 25, 2010 11:26 pm

So finally i managed to solve my problems with the head and i get the indains nearly working. So here is the download link nerly working => http://www.filefactory.com/file/b3he0f6 ... rfect_.pk3
So my newest problem is that this players don't work in BR game mode in every outher mode they are working. So why aren'r they working in BR?

Here are some pictures of my next model. (the lags are not finished by now). This Indain has no name so if you have any Ideas for a name or anithing else just reply.


10o9_969_ubrrm.jpg
10o9_45b_ubrrm.jpg
10o9_ae0_ubrrm.jpg
10o9_cf6_ubrrm.jpg
10o9_b64_ubrrm.jpg
User avatar
!NuB!Donut
SG Team
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:57 pm
Location: Germany



Postby /dev/random » Tue Oct 26, 2010 7:25 pm

Iirc the game automatically uses the "red"/"blue" skin in team gametypes.
User avatar
/dev/random
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:58 pm



Postby !NuB!Donut » Tue Oct 26, 2010 11:55 pm

Iirc the game automatically uses the "red"/"blue" skin in team gametypes.
thanks x 100000000000 times 8)

Finaly i finshed my work all is working now. Here is the download link.

Download


Some picturs of the playermodels.


12qn_121_ubrrm.jpg
Name: Cochise
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cochise


12qn_54e_ubrrm.jpg
Name::Geronimo
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geronimo


13tf_88a_ubrrm.jpg
Name::MangasColoradas
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mangas_Coloradas


12qn_412_ubrrm.jpg
Name::MangasC.Senior
--------------------------------------------------------

I hope that you like them. Pleas post your feedback below. I would be very pleased if this modes would get add to any future Sg version.
User avatar
!NuB!Donut
SG Team
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:57 pm
Location: Germany



Postby Pardner » Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:16 pm

Donut, amigo, nice job. If you are confident in your work, you should put your files up on Moddb. If you get good feedback (like the feedback already received), I don't see a reason why we couldn't include them in the next SG release!

Image
Image
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA



Postby !NuB!Donut » Wed Oct 27, 2010 10:36 pm

I will upload the models and my maps to Moddb soon.

Maybe this is off topic but it's cool.
User avatar
!NuB!Donut
SG Team
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:57 pm
Location: Germany



Next

Return to Modelling & Animation

Show Sidebar
Show Sidebar

User Control Panel