With cordite in the air, splintered steel, shell casings and powder burns, there’s only one explanation...
Post feedback & meet new friends. General SG discussion.

Moderators: Pardner, TheDoctor

Can't Stop Moving/Sliding!

Postby dbozan99 » Fri Sep 11, 2009 2:53 am

I'm surprised I couldn't find any complaints about this on the forum.

OK, I'm sure you've all experienced it. I'm not sure what causes this but sometimes when you let go of your run key, you're player just seems to keep sliding...

I know that it's supposed to be there so that you don't just stop on a dime, you're supposed to finish your step or whatever, but it seems that most of the time you just keep sliding!

Another thing that I noticed that probably has something to do with the sliding, is that 9 times out of 10, you're not even running at full speed! Sometimes this can be solved by jumping, but sometimes even stopping (if you can :? )and starting again doesn't even help!

I've compiled the latest SVN revision of SG 1.1 and neither problem seems to be fixed. Please, Please, Please Tell me that these will be fixed by the time SG 1.1 is actually released, as they are extremely annoying.
User avatar
dbozan99
Pistolero
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 5:14 am



Yes

Postby Lucky Bro » Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:42 am

I find all movement in smoking guns as ugliest I ever saw in Q3 mods.
Especially in the way how "bunny hopping" bug is solved.

I'll do something with it, but not now - there are much more ridiculous bugs than it. Probably in a month or so.

Have a good day!
"You should know that the lies won't hide your flaws/No sense in hiding all of yours/You gave up on your dreams along the way" (c) "Fake it" by Seether
P.S. English isn't my native language.
User avatar
Lucky Bro
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:12 pm



Postby Sucalakafufu » Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:24 am

hmm well i dont seem to notice lol maybe sometimes when im sliding off of objects but normal running doesnt seem to affect me :)
SG Name: Sucalakafufu
Clan: [CWNN] - Clan With No Name
User avatar
Sucalakafufu
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 239
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:59 am



Postby sparcdr » Fri Sep 11, 2009 5:39 pm

My mirror including SVN binaries is back up at here with 1.1 binaries, including debug and optimized versions for all who want to try.
sparcdr
SG Team
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 3:41 pm



Postby SmokeyBacon » Mon Sep 14, 2009 11:06 am

The only time I really notice this is on the palisade walls at Fort. Otherwise I find movement is fine.
User avatar
SmokeyBacon
Shootist
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 9:25 pm
Location: Stuttgart



Postby Pardner » Mon Sep 14, 2009 1:53 pm

SmokeyBacon wrote:The only time I really notice this is on the palisade walls at Fort. Otherwise I find movement is fine.

That is built into the map. the outer walls are coated with grease!!!

Image
Image
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA



Re: Yes

Postby Tequila » Mon Sep 14, 2009 3:20 pm

Lucky Bro wrote:I find all movement in smoking guns as ugliest I ever saw in Q3 mods.
Especially in the way how "bunny hopping" bug is solved.
...

What do you mean ? Your first sentence has not really meaning related with the second for me. About "bunny hopping" fix, I think you are talking about the one in dm_train map I fixed. That bug wasn't really related to player movement. The bug was related to mover entities moving too fast and it involved ground change to a different level for every entities and for a short time (let's say one frame) each time the fast moving mover was activated. I'm not sure that's a SG only bug as dm_train is the only map I know using so much mover entities and I don't think fast movers are heavily used elsewhere in any Q3 mod. But let me know if you know one as they may have another cleaner fix for the same thing :P

dbozan99 wrote:Another thing that I noticed that probably has something to do with the sliding, is that 9 times out of 10, you're not even running at full speed!

Well I didn't really notice that. Can you explain in details how we can experimenting the same feeling ? So we may really try to fix that.
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France



Postby dbozan99 » Tue Sep 15, 2009 1:39 am

OK, so some of that was a little over exaggerated, but it's all still true and very annoying...

I will try to get some videos of these problems up here soon.

And one thing I have noticed that I forgot to mention in the original post is that it would appear that the problems seem to happen alot more on higher ping servers; but that doesn't mean it's necessarily a lag issue, because it will sometimes even happen in a single-player game...even without any bots to compute.

One other thing I noticed is that you seem to be MUCH more likely to start sliding if you stop on a sloped surface. But not always...
User avatar
dbozan99
Pistolero
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 5:14 am



Postby Lucky Bro » Tue Sep 15, 2009 11:58 am

As I told, Tequila - I find movement in SG as ugliest I ever saw in q3 mods. Especially in the way how "bunny hopping" bug (originally it was a bug and not a feature) (link to wiki about bunny hop).
The q3 engine has a lot of variables to control player's movement.
The result of configuring and wrapping of these variables in SG is ugliest to me. It is a tank on sliders in short. No type of men is moving like that. Maybe someone with a ski (yep, one).
Anyway I'm glad everyone here feeling fine with it - less work for you. To me it is obviously to be fixed.
dm_train is other story to me (and seems forum has other topic for it).
As I see the author of topic is interested mainly in slide effect. I don't see any reason to take a look at slide when whole movement is needed to be reconsidered.
"You should know that the lies won't hide your flaws/No sense in hiding all of yours/You gave up on your dreams along the way" (c) "Fake it" by Seether
P.S. English isn't my native language.
User avatar
Lucky Bro
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:12 pm



Postby moRtem » Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:35 pm

Lucky Bro wrote:Especially in the way how "bunny hopping" bug (originally it was a bug and not a feature) (link to wiki about bunny hop)


you are talking about "strafe-jumping" though. Bunny hopping is another jump-technique in q3-engine-games which is only noticable with very high movement-speed (e.g. after accelerating with strafe-jumping for a while).


/quit
User avatar
moRtem
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 5:56 pm



anyway

Postby Lucky Bro » Tue Sep 15, 2009 10:25 pm

The problems (originally called bugs) to avoid which SG tries to solve are 1)gaining speed during turning and 2)not counting landing if you press jump right before landing (so your speed won't get down to running max).
And the third which is initially absent in vanilla Q3 is air control when it is possible to gain speed while you are moving in the air.
Whatever techniques relying on these bugs we'll name here (I'm not a specialist in these terms, I learned how to proper use circle/strafe jumping only recently and always called any zigzag movement as bunny hop while now I see there is a difference, but still the root cause are the same bugs) - I find current movement modifications in SG engine as ugly. Because eventually player is moving like tank on a ski.
"You should know that the lies won't hide your flaws/No sense in hiding all of yours/You gave up on your dreams along the way" (c) "Fake it" by Seether
P.S. English isn't my native language.
User avatar
Lucky Bro
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:12 pm



Postby SmokeyBacon » Tue Sep 15, 2009 11:19 pm

Pardner wrote:
SmokeyBacon wrote:The only time I really notice this is on the palisade walls at Fort. Otherwise I find movement is fine.

That is built into the map. the outer walls are coated with grease!!!


While touching on this, I just thought I'd share an idea: I love how players can be hung in hang 'em high and I think there should be more ways of terrain and map-related killings. And since palisade walls have nice pointy sharp tops, I thought it would be good if players were damaged by touching them, as opposed to just sliding uncontrolably across to the other side of the map. :idea:
User avatar
SmokeyBacon
Shootist
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 9:25 pm
Location: Stuttgart



Postby Sucalakafufu » Wed Sep 16, 2009 11:31 am

SmokeyBacon wrote:
Pardner wrote:
SmokeyBacon wrote:The only time I really notice this is on the palisade walls at Fort. Otherwise I find movement is fine.

That is built into the map. the outer walls are coated with grease!!!


While touching on this, I just thought I'd share an idea: I love how players can be hung in hang 'em high and I think there should be more ways of terrain and map-related killings. And since palisade walls have nice pointy sharp tops, I thought it would be good if players were damaged by touching them, as opposed to just sliding uncontrolably across to the other side of the map. :idea:


agreed. those pikes should definitely hurt a man! :P
SG Name: Sucalakafufu
Clan: [CWNN] - Clan With No Name
User avatar
Sucalakafufu
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 239
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:59 am



Postby dbozan99 » Fri Oct 09, 2009 8:53 pm

Sorry this took so long, I actually figured out the problem a while ago, but forgot to post about the fix :roll:

OK, a little back-story to explain everything......

I like to get the most out of my aging computer (as in best looks). I tend to do this no matter what... So I went browsing through the q3config and anything that sounded interesting I Googled to see if I could figure out what it did. while most things turned up nothing of any use, some had tons of info!

After changing tons of things I got it to where it looks pretty sweet, but not what you might be thinking....remember that this is only quake3 after all :)

After all this is when I noticed the weird sliding effect and I could have sworn that it did this before hand (which does happen but hardley....)

After retracing my steps a little, I noticed a page called "Why your FPS effects Jumping in Quake3", And even though my problem wasn't jumping, this fixed the problem!
http://ucguides.savagehelp.com/Quake3/FAQFPSJumps.html

It turns out that one of the first cvars i changed was actually com_maxfps to 999 to unlimit my fps. BAD IDEA!! This was causing the problem all along! It seems that because I was getting constantly fluctuating ranges of between 100-300 fps, It was causing problems with how I moved.....

If you don't feel like riding the info above, I'll make it simple for you.
Pick any of these for optimal playing!

Code: Select all
200
166
142
125
111
100
90
83
76
71
66
62
58
55
52
50
47
45
43
40-41
37-38
20-35


If you have a slower computer, I would recommend 62 or 66. I use 100 because my FPS will almost never go below 100 and that is a good thing! although 62 or 66 is all you really need anyway.... What's especially funny is that SG and most other Q3 based games will either have default of 60 or 85, both of which aren't optimal! (SG has com_maxfps 85 by default!)

For those of you who don't know how to edit q3config, simply open the console ingame with ~ and type
Code: Select all
/com_maxfps 62
User avatar
dbozan99
Pistolero
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 5:14 am



Postby Tequila » Fri Oct 09, 2009 10:39 pm

Interesting, but... these values are calculated for Q3 engine using 800 as gravity... and SG uses 900.
And sorry I'm too tired to try to understand how to find the right value.
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France



Next

Return to Saloon

Show Sidebar
Show Sidebar

User Control Panel