With cordite in the air, splintered steel, shell casings and powder burns, there’s only one explanation...
If you have any trouble with SG, this is the place to ask.

Moderator: Pardner

Surround sound

Postby Allied » Fri Mar 20, 2009 6:07 pm

Hello folks,

I was wondering what kind of support for 5.1 surround SG has/will have. From what I read, the original Quake 3 did not support it.

Are there any plans for implementation?

Thanks,
Allied
User avatar
Allied
Quick Draw
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:27 pm



Postby Tequila » Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:27 am

Our 1.1 engine branch based on ioQuake3 code will support Surround sound thanks to OpenAL support.
You should take a look on the ioQuake3 engine improvments.

You still can compile yourself that branch to test it. I hope to release some testing binaries with the next release update in the next weeks... 8O
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1090
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France



Postby sparcdr » Sat Mar 21, 2009 6:30 pm

http://www.smokin-guns.org/downloads/binaries/r150/ is latest if you have Windows and want to try it. Else, Tequila should get Linux binaries up soon for the rest. Keep in mind this is not supported yet, and is based on the latest code at SourceForge of the engine. We hope it helps.
sparcdr
SG Team
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 3:41 pm



Postby Allied » Sat Mar 21, 2009 7:54 pm

Thanks for the build! I'm not quite sure what "not supported" covers, but it's worth mentioning :). The build ran fine (intro movie worked too), however there is still no surround sound - it's the same stereo deal. I have run the OpenAL installer that I downloaded from their website, and the useOpenAL setting is set to 1.

I am running Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit. I can also test on Windows 2000 Professional. Dual boot setup.
User avatar
Allied
Quick Draw
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:27 pm



Postby sparcdr » Sat Mar 21, 2009 8:49 pm

Consider how old a lot of our sound files are. Having 5.1 would require remastering some of the files. I don't think anything is greater than stereo. Having OpenAL allows for it, but it requires the files to be sampled accordingly.

I mean not supported as in this is not to be taken as the release version and is a representation of the current work being done.
sparcdr
SG Team
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 3:41 pm



Postby Allied » Sat Mar 21, 2009 9:47 pm

Actually I was talking about positional surround, eg I hear noises from my rear speakers if they're behind me.

However I believe it's not working because I don't have a Creative sound card. Using a Realtek provided beta OpenAL "simulator", it partly works but there's loads of problems. Naturally not SG's fault, but rather Creative and Realtek's.

Thanks for your time!
User avatar
Allied
Quick Draw
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:27 pm



Postby sparcdr » Sat Mar 21, 2009 10:05 pm

Yes, you're right that positional mixing should work. Sorry to hear that you can't take advantage of it. I hope you find the beta binary helpful, and you are free to share with other SG players this thread so they can try it too, but as I said it's bound to be incremented every so often before the next SG update.
sparcdr
SG Team
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 3:41 pm



Postby ReD NeCKersoN » Tue Mar 24, 2009 3:16 am

sparcdr wrote:Yes, you're right that positional mixing should work.

It does for me & makes me a better player than I would be without it. I hope you get it working eventually Allied.
Image
User avatar
ReD NeCKersoN
SG Team
 
Posts: 3245
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2002 6:22 am
Location: VA, USA



Postby Allied » Tue Mar 24, 2009 7:11 am

ReD NeCKersoN wrote:It does for me & makes me a better player than I would be without it. I hope you get it working eventually Allied.


I have no doubt that it would help a lot, being able to tell where exactly those footsteps (and more importantly, shots) are coming from would be very useful.

Do you mind if I ask if you have a Creative sound card?
User avatar
Allied
Quick Draw
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:27 pm



Postby ReD NeCKersoN » Tue Mar 24, 2009 3:41 pm

Allied wrote:Do you mind if I ask if you have a Creative sound card?

Integrated audio on an Abit motherboard. I think it's called SoundStorm.
User avatar
ReD NeCKersoN
SG Team
 
Posts: 3245
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2002 6:22 am
Location: VA, USA



Postby Allied » Tue Mar 24, 2009 5:36 pm

Hmm, that could make sense if what I currently believe is correct. SoundStorm was a nVidia solution - and nVidia was part developer of OpenAL along with Creative.

Are you using the standard OpenAL installation or a special one?
User avatar
Allied
Quick Draw
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:27 pm



Postby ReD NeCKersoN » Tue Mar 24, 2009 7:50 pm

Allied wrote:SoundStorm was a nVidia solution.

Yes, my mobo has an Nvidia chipset.
Allied wrote:Are you using the standard OpenAL installation or a special one?

I'm not using OpenAL as far as I know. Positional audio has worked for me in Q3 games ever since I can remember. For at least 8 or 9 years I think.
User avatar
ReD NeCKersoN
SG Team
 
Posts: 3245
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2002 6:22 am
Location: VA, USA



Postby sparcdr » Fri Mar 27, 2009 5:21 am

If not OpenAL you're using DirectSound, both which have supported the feature for as ReD states around 8 or 9 years... and both sound API's are generic enough to work on any tech newer than the timeframe QIIIA has existed, with some exceptions in extreme cases. Affinity or parent developer companies have no bearing on such compatibility.
sparcdr
SG Team
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 3:41 pm



Postby Allied » Fri Mar 27, 2009 6:48 am

Ok, positional surround via DirectSound makes sense - I know that works for other games, including the DirectX SDK (the older ones which still had DirectSound). But it definitely does not use positional surround in SG when in DirectSound mode - can you think of any reason for this?
User avatar
Allied
Quick Draw
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:27 pm



Postby sparcdr » Tue Mar 31, 2009 9:04 pm

DirectX SDK now replaced DirectSound with XAUDIO2. We haven't changed (Not has upstream) to use it either, hence why we just use OpenAL..
sparcdr
SG Team
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 3:41 pm



Next

Return to Doc's Office

Show Sidebar
Show Sidebar

User Control Panel