With cordite in the air, splintered steel, shell casings and powder burns, there’s only one explanation...
If you have any trouble with SG, this is the place to ask.

Moderator: Pardner

Postby LinuxDanP » Tue Jun 01, 2010 10:02 pm

Huh, I just tried downloading SG from the ausgamers.net mirror, and it appears that the .zip file was corrupted because my archiving tool couldn't load it. I'm downloading it again from HugeLaser.
LinuxDanP
Drifter
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 10:33 pm



Postby LinuxDanP » Wed Jun 02, 2010 5:09 am

Got it from HugeLaser. This time I did get the sg_sounds and sg_textures pk3 files, but it's still failing on the same error. Here's the most recent error message:
Code: Select all
--------------------------------
Loading vm file vm/ui.qvm...
Failed.
----- Client Shutdown (Client fatal crashed: VM_Create on UI failed) -----
OpenAL capture device closed.
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
-----------------------
VM_Create on UI failed


The only other problem I see in the printout is:
Code: Select all
execing q3config.cfg
couldn't exec autoexec.cfg

But I don't see how that could cause the other issue. The md5sum on the zip file I downloaded is:
Code: Select all
6e6a980bd057e9241c66b7324729c7b9  Smokin_Guns_1.0.zip


Which matches the md5sum you posted earlier.
LinuxDanP
Drifter
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 10:33 pm



Postby /dev/random » Wed Jun 02, 2010 10:24 am

From a quick look at the code, this message only appears when vm/ui.qvm (in your case. Could be cgame or game aswell) fails to load.
The only situations where this could happen are when the file is either not existant at all or can't be loaded due to permission problems or maybe a corrupted pk3 (at least that's what I can think of, any other ideas appreciated).

Do you now also have a sg_pak0.pk3 with the correct checksum? If you're lazy, I could upload it separately.


Don't worry about autoexec, this is an additional config file where you are supposed to put your custom settings, rather than in q3config. It's not mandatory.
User avatar
/dev/random
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:58 pm



Postby LinuxDanP » Wed Jun 02, 2010 5:00 pm

sg_pak0.pk3 is corrupt. I just tried to open it with the gnome archive manager, and got errors. I can open other pk3 files with it just fine. Here's the checksum of sg_pak0.pk3 in Smokin' Guns/smokinguns:
Code: Select all
3993a2ec7f3b3e0b570d4e246ac9d36e  sg_pak0.pk3

Is there any way I can download just that file, without downloading the rest of the data files?
LinuxDanP
Drifter
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 10:33 pm



Postby Pardner » Wed Jun 02, 2010 7:43 pm

have you tried the moddb mirror? I just downloaded the zip and everything was ok on this end:

http://www.moddb.com/games/smokin-guns/ ... uns-10-zip

Image
Image
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA



Postby /dev/random » Wed Jun 02, 2010 8:30 pm

Take a look at ftp://ftp.loop8.net/games/smokinguns/
Located in Germany, might be slow depending from where you connect.
User avatar
/dev/random
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:58 pm



Postby LinuxDanP » Wed Jun 02, 2010 8:39 pm

Thanks! I'm downloading sg_pak0.pk3 now. I'll let you know what happens.

@Pardner: Thanks, I'll keep that mirror in mind if I ever have trouble again.
LinuxDanP
Drifter
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 10:33 pm



Postby LinuxDanP » Wed Jun 02, 2010 9:35 pm

Ok, I just downloaded sg_pak0.pk3, and it opens up just fine in the archive manager. If I browse to vm/ I find ui.qvm, qagame.qvm, and cgame.qvm. But when I run Smokin' Guns, I get the same error. The md5sum is:
Code: Select all
eea418ac97ce7f30ac2b0dc013a878d1  sg_pak0.pk3
LinuxDanP
Drifter
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 10:33 pm



Postby /dev/random » Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:53 pm

Oh well, now I'm out of ideas, since exact the same pk3 works fine for me, even online.
As a last resort, you could try to "set fs_debug 1" and see whether you have sufficient read access to the files.
User avatar
/dev/random
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:58 pm



Postby ReD NeCKersoN » Thu Jun 03, 2010 3:17 am

I searched google for the error. Many links for other Q3 engine games point to graphics issues. If you have the latest drivers for your video card, maybe you need to try an older driver? Other links pointed to OS priviledges.... but those were for Vista.
Image
User avatar
ReD NeCKersoN
SG Team
 
Posts: 3245
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2002 6:22 am
Location: VA, USA



Postby LinuxDanP » Thu Jun 03, 2010 5:26 am

Well, I tried using the fs_debug setting, but it didn't yield any relevant information.

Pardner: Thanks a lot, but I just don't think it's a graphics issue, since in the printout I see:
Code: Select all
Loading vm file vm/ui.qvm...
Failed.
And then a few lines later:
Code: Select all
VM_Create on UI failed

Assuming that those two lines are related, for some odd reason or another, it fails to read the vm/ui.qvm file and then crashes. Plus, earlier in the printout, it detects my graphics board correctly.

Just in case it IS a graphics issue that causes the crash, are there any known issues with the GeForce 8600 GTS GPU?
LinuxDanP
Drifter
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 10:33 pm



Postby /dev/random » Thu Jun 03, 2010 12:56 pm

When you start SG, it should list all the files it currently uses. If it were running, you could also trigger this output via /path. Ensure all the neccessary files are listed and you also have at least read access to them.

Code: Select all
Current search path:
/home/random/.smokinguns/smokinguns
./smokinguns/sg_textures1.pk3 (5 files)
./smokinguns/sg_textures0.pk3 (1018 files)
./smokinguns/sg_sounds1.pk3 (6 files)
./smokinguns/sg_sounds.pk3 (278 files)
./smokinguns/sg_pak1.pk3 (67 files)
./smokinguns/sg_pak0.pk3 (803 files)
./smokinguns/sg_maps1.pk3 (70 files)
./smokinguns/sg_maps0.pk3 (161 files)
./smokinguns/joekarimat2.pk3 (8 files)
./smokinguns/joekarimat1.pk3 (178 files)
./smokinguns/alamo1.pk3 (14 files)
./smokinguns
./baseq3/pak0.pk3 (107 files)
./baseq3


Now how did Red become Pardner? :D
I don't think it's a graphic issue either. He got other ioquake based games running and the error occurs before any graphics are displayed plus the error message is triggered when the file in question couldn't be loaded. Like I said, this is most likely caused by corrupted pk3s or missing files or insufficient permissions. I doubt it are the permissions, since he extracted the files into his home folder, but you never know.

Another approach would be to compile the game on your system, but I doubt that'll really help.
User avatar
/dev/random
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:58 pm



Postby Pardner » Thu Jun 03, 2010 2:13 pm

/dev/random wrote:
Code: Select all
./smokinguns/sg_textures1.pk3 (5 files)
./smokinguns/sg_sounds1.pk3 (6 files)
./smokinguns/sg_pak1.pk3 (67 files)
./smokinguns/sg_maps1.pk3 (70 files)
./smokinguns/joekarimat2.pk3 (8 files)


Note: Those files are 1.1beta files. I may have missed this in your discussion, but make sure that you are using 1.0 binaries with only 1.0 files and 1.1 binaries with 1.1 files. If you have a miss-match, it will cause a crash on loading the QVM.

Pardner ≠ Red
:D
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA



Postby /dev/random » Thu Jun 03, 2010 2:22 pm

I haven't tried using a v1.0 engine with v1.1 content, but the v1.1 engine is compatible with both content. I was forced to use v1.1 engine, since v1.0 does not provide a 64bit build in the first place (and I dislike running with multilib).
User avatar
/dev/random
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:58 pm



Postby Pardner » Thu Jun 03, 2010 2:58 pm

ohh... right right... otherwise 1.1 fellas couldnt play on 1.0 servers...


So it must be using the 1.0 engine with the 1.1 content files.
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA



PreviousNext

Return to Doc's Office

Show Sidebar
Show Sidebar

User Control Panel

cron