With cordite in the air, splintered steel, shell casings and powder burns, there’s only one explanation...
If you have any trouble with SG, this is the place to ask.

Moderator: Pardner

Audio problems...

Postby Knightless » Tue May 07, 2013 2:01 pm

This started last weeks suddently..
When i play sounds lagging and raping my ears off..
plays same sound over and over again or something like that.
I deleted all files and redownloaded and still nothing..
Music players / youtube - anything works great but just SG does that
Running XP
Knightless
Newcomer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 8:41 pm



Re: Audio problems...

Postby Barto » Tue May 07, 2013 9:45 pm

Knightless wrote:This started last weeks suddently..

Have you changed something into your computer? (install, update, etc?)

Anyway,
I may have seen this bug into ioquake3...
Does it corresponds to this description here? https://bugzilla.icculus.org/show_bug.cgi?id=5418
If I were you, I would try to set s_useOpenAL to 0 or 1 and do some snd_restart to testin the console (shift-escape to open/close it).

Be sure you have openAL installed on your machine. (Download: http://connect.creativelabs.com/openal/ ... Items.aspx)

I cannot really provide you some further help here, if nothing is making the trick you can still sadly disable the music. If it's the case, I can try to discuss with Tequila/ioquake devs for more infos but it's always hard to describe your problem when you don't actually have it.
"Chuck Norris had to shorten his beard in the presence of Richard Stallman because two beards that awesome, so close would segfault the universe (again)."
User avatar
Barto
Jeuxlinux Admin
 
Posts: 331
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 5:08 pm
Location: Switzerland



Re: Audio problems...

Postby Biondo » Tue May 07, 2013 11:17 pm

I always suggest to set s_useOpenAL 0 in these cases, because it solved the problem for me, but lately my hint had no effect in solving others' problems.

I'm not sure, but I think that if you want to make the setting permanent you'd better type "seta s_useOpenAL 0" in console ('seta', with trailing A, not 'set').
User avatar
Biondo
SG Website Designer
 
Posts: 533
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 4:35 pm



Re: Audio problems...

Postby Knightless » Wed May 08, 2013 7:13 am

Naa neither didnt work for me.
And i havnt had any updates.
Thanks for help though.
Knightless
Newcomer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 8:41 pm




Return to Doc's Office

Show Sidebar
Show Sidebar

User Control Panel