With cordite in the air, splintered steel, shell casings and powder burns, there’s only one explanation...
If you have any trouble with SG, this is the place to ask.

Moderator: Pardner

binding console

Postby a.k47 » Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:36 pm

Hey ho...

does anyone of you guys know how to bind the console on another button?
At the moment i have ^ as console-button. But i can't write in colours for example.

even /bind 1 toogleconsole does not really work.

Any idea?


best regards
a.k47
in game: -=LWa.k47=-
admin on:
-Jeuxlinux
-smokin'guns.org BR
-smokin'guns.org Mixed
User avatar
a.k47
Jeuxlinux Admin
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 11:20 am



Re: binding console

Postby TheDoctor » Wed Dec 25, 2013 10:45 pm

On one hand, it is spelled toggleconsole, i.e.
bind 1 "toggleconsole"


On the other hand, just use Shift+Esc. It works on every OS.
Image
User avatar
TheDoctor
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 818
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 3:31 am



Re: binding console

Postby Biondo » Wed Dec 25, 2013 11:03 pm

Yes, Shift+Esc is keyboard/language/OS agnostic. AFAIK, it had been sculpted in stone for Quake3-based games.
Useless mnemonic aid: "SHI(f)T! I can't remember how to open console. I'm definitely asinine, no ESC-uses".

See also.
Last edited by Biondo on Wed Dec 25, 2013 11:33 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Biondo
SG Website Designer
 
Posts: 543
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 4:35 pm



Re: binding console

Postby Tequila » Wed Dec 25, 2013 11:25 pm

Hi and merry christmas all,

you can also play with cl_consoleKeys cvar. Check it in your q3config.cfg, it may look like:
Code: Select all
seta cl_consoleKeys "0xb2 ~ ` 0x7e 0x60"


this cvar is described like this in the source README:
Code: Select all
cl_consoleKeys            - space delimited list of key names or
                            characters that toggle the console

:twisted:

Join Smokin'Guns Return room on Discord
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France



Re: binding console

Postby a.k47 » Fri Dec 27, 2013 6:26 pm

Well,

i think i discribed my problem in a wrong way.
I knew how to open console, it works fine just with ^, as well as with shift and esc.

I want to change these things, so i can write in different colours and the console does not open and close all the time.

regards
a.k47
in game: -=LWa.k47=-
admin on:
-Jeuxlinux
-smokin'guns.org BR
-smokin'guns.org Mixed
User avatar
a.k47
Jeuxlinux Admin
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 11:20 am



Re: binding console

Postby Biondo » Fri Dec 27, 2013 7:16 pm

Now I understand your problem.
Have you tried editing the pertinent BIND in your q3config.cfg file (see here to locate the file)?

For instance, in my configuration file the BIND is the following line:

Code: Select all
bind ~ "toggleconsole"

Note that my BIND is not particularly comfortable with my Italian keyboard, but the BIND doesn't accept the many Italian special-character keys, and I don't want to occupy a common-letter key.
User avatar
Biondo
SG Website Designer
 
Posts: 543
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 4:35 pm



Re: binding console

Postby Tequila » Fri Dec 27, 2013 7:37 pm

Check also your cl_consoleKeys cvar as one value can be the one for ^ on your keybord. Then, just remove this value.
Just to be clear, cl_consoleKeys is a list of keycode separated by spaces.
:twisted:

Join Smokin'Guns Return room on Discord
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France



Re: binding console

Postby Biondo » Fri Dec 27, 2013 8:44 pm

Tequila, between a BIND and the cl_consoleKeys, who takes the precedence? Do their values sum or every bind value must be also stated in cl_consoleKeys?
Moreover, which notation/encode does cl_consoleKeys follow for non ASCII characters? I mean: how do I convert a key like, for instance, 'ò' to a valid cl_consoleKeys' value?
User avatar
Biondo
SG Website Designer
 
Posts: 543
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 4:35 pm



Re: binding console

Postby /dev/random » Sat Dec 28, 2013 3:46 pm

Biondo wrote:Moreover, which notation/encode does cl_consoleKeys follow for non ASCII characters? I mean: how do I convert a key like, for instance, 'ò' to a valid cl_consoleKeys' value?

I'd imagine you could just try binding this key to some other action via the menu first and see which character it prints/writes to the config.
User avatar
/dev/random
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:58 pm



Re: binding console

Postby Biondo » Sat Dec 28, 2013 4:37 pm

Good idea, /dev/random.

I tested it via menu with the BUY command, since I'm not able to find a menu entry for opening/closing console. I then edited my q3config.cfg consequently.

OK, binding the key 'ù' to toggleconsole let me open the console, but not close it with the same key.

Adding the same bind also in cl_consoleKeys it works both directions.

Now my config file reads:

Code: Select all
bind WORLD_89 "toggleconsole"
set cl_consoleKeys "~ ` 0x7e 0x60 WORLD_89"


where WORLD_89 corresponds to the 'ù' key. The other binds declared in cl_consoleKeys (don't know to which key the codes '0x7e' and '0x60' correspond) probably still works, at least '~' works for sure.

Hope that a.k47 will be now able to solve his issue.
User avatar
Biondo
SG Website Designer
 
Posts: 543
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 4:35 pm



Re: binding console

Postby Tequila » Mon Dec 30, 2013 1:22 pm

Hi,

/dev/random tips is the way I used. Sorry to have forgotten to tell about ;) and thank you /dev/random

In any way, I think other codes in cl_consoleKeys are just the code used for the expected key but for different languages. I mean, the expected key is the one at top left on the keyboard, just next to the one for "1". But since ioQ3 uses SDL to read the keycode, they had to work-around the keyboard language problem using a list covering as most as possible keycode.

Of course, in that way, you're free to remove from your cl_consoleKeys the values not matching your keyboard.
:twisted:

Join Smokin'Guns Return room on Discord
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France




Return to Doc's Office

Show Sidebar
Show Sidebar

User Control Panel

cron