With cordite in the air, splintered steel, shell casings and powder burns, there’s only one explanation...
Everything about Smokin' Guns releases

Moderators: torhu, Tequila

About any sound problems

Postby Tequila » Mon Oct 19, 2009 10:52 pm

You may found the sound is weird, loud or found sound holes in a map. This seems to be OpenAl related.

You can try without using OpenAl by using the console to:
1. disable openal by setting s_useOpenal to 0
2. and restart the sound system, using snd_restart command

I would like anyway you report your OpenAl settings as we may need to tune them for SG. Actually, you can open a console, type s_al and press TAB key. You should find 13 cvars I want you to report in that thread.

Here are my own parameters:
Code: Select all
]\s_al
    s_alGraceDistance = "512"
    s_alRolloff = "2"
    s_alMaxDistance = "1024"
    s_alMinDistance = "120"
    s_alDevice = ""
    s_alDriver = "libopenal.so.0"
    s_alMaxSpeakerDistance = "1024"
    s_alDopplerSpeed = "2200"
    s_alDopplerFactor = "1.0"
    s_alSources = "96"
    s_alGain = "0.4"
    s_alPrecache = "1"
    s_alCapture = "1"

I don't remember if I changed them and I'm sure they are not optimal.

Btw, if you decide to desactivate OpenAl, you should know you won't be able to use VoIP stuff.
8)
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France



Postby Sucalakafufu » Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:17 pm

so this is my al settings
Code: Select all
s_alAvailableDevices = "DirectSound Software Wave File Writer"   
s_alGraceDistance = "512"   
s_alRolloff = "2"   
s_alMaxDistance = "1024"   
s_alMinDistance = "120"   
s_alPrecache = "1"   
s_alGain = "1.0"   
s_alSources = "96"   
s_alDopplerFactor = "1.0"   
s_alDopplerSpeed = "2200"   
s_alDriver = "OpenAL32.dll"   
s_alDevice = ""   
s_alCapture = "1"
SG Name: Sucalakafufu
Clan: [CWNN] - Clan With No Name
User avatar
Sucalakafufu
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 239
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:59 am



Postby Pardner » Wed Oct 21, 2009 3:26 am

i found a bug relating to the fire sound from the Molotov. The best map for this is Elpaso, so:
1) Load Elpaso
2) Run to center of the town
3) Throw an Molotov anywhere
4) You will hear the fire sound coming from the bank!

I saw a ticket about OpenAL, but I wasn't sure if that was an approperate place for this particular bug.


Code: Select all
    s_alGraceDistance = "512"
    s_alRolloff = "2"
    s_alMaxDistance = "1024"
    s_alMinDistance = "120"
    s_alPrecache = "1"
    s_alGain = "1.0"
    s_alSources = "96"
    s_alDopplerFactor = "1.0"
    s_alDopplerSpeed = "2200"
    s_alDriver = "OpenAL32.dll"
    s_alDevice = ""
    s_alCapture = "1"
Last edited by Pardner on Wed Oct 21, 2009 4:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA



Postby ReD NeCKersoN » Wed Oct 21, 2009 4:19 am

AL sound is very buggy. :(

Code: Select all
s_alAvailableDevices = "DirectSound Software
Wave File Writer
"
    s_alGraceDistance = "512"
    s_alRolloff = "2"
    s_alMaxDistance = "1024"
    s_alMinDistance = "120"
    s_alDevice = "Generic Software"
    s_alDriver = "OpenAL32.dll"
    s_alDopplerSpeed = "2200"
    s_alDopplerFactor = "1.0"
    s_alSources = "96"
    s_alGain = "1.0"
    s_alPrecache = "1"
    s_alCapture = "1"
Image
User avatar
ReD NeCKersoN
SG Team
 
Posts: 3245
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2002 6:22 am
Location: VA, USA



Postby mLy! » Wed Oct 21, 2009 11:34 am

Havent tested too long, but I found the sound loud and very 'sharp', noticed this most when reloading the colt peacemaker


Code: Select all
\s_al
    s_alAvailableDevices = "DirectSound Software
Wave File Writer
"
    s_alGraceDistance = "512"
    s_alRolloff = "2"
    s_alMaxDistance = "1024"
    s_alMinDistance = "120"
    s_alCapture = "1"
    s_alDevice = ""
    s_alDriver = "OpenAL32.dll"
    s_alDopplerSpeed = "2200"
    s_alDopplerFactor = "1.0"
    s_alSources = "96"
    s_alGain = "1.0"
    s_alPrecache = "1"

My Latest fragmovies:
Winning BB cup
User avatar
mLy!
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 8:46 pm



Postby Sucalakafufu » Wed Oct 21, 2009 12:47 pm

yah i found some of those as well. for those who found bugs. do the bugs still occur when you set s_useOpenAL to 0 ? if its like the bugs ive found, then not using openAL makes all the problems go away :P
SG Name: Sucalakafufu
Clan: [CWNN] - Clan With No Name
User avatar
Sucalakafufu
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 239
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:59 am



Postby Tequila » Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:38 pm

Well, all of you have s_alGain set to 1.0, mine is 0.4 and sound is better, but I think it isn't perfect. I'll try to provide an UI panel to permit to tune OpenAL easily for next release.

From now, interested people can try to tune OpenAl manually from the console.

Here is what you can found in provided ioQ3 README to help tuning sound system:
Code: Select all
  s_useOpenAL                       - use the OpenAL sound backend if available
  s_alPrecache                      - cache OpenAL sounds before use
  s_alGain                          - the value of AL_GAIN for each source
  s_alSources                       - the total number of sources (memory) to allocate
  s_alDopplerFactor                 - the value passed to alDopplerFactor
  s_alDopplerSpeed                  - the value passed to alDopplerVelocity
  s_alMinDistance                   - the value of AL_REFERENCE_DISTANCE for each source
  s_alMaxDistance                   - the maximum distance before sounds start to become inaudible.
  s_alRolloff                       - the value of AL_ROLLOFF_FACTOR for each source
  s_alGraceDistance                 - after having passed MaxDistance, length until sounds are completely inaudible
  s_alDriver                        - which OpenAL library to use
  s_alDevice                        - which OpenAL device to use
  s_alAvailableDevices              - list of available OpenAL devices

  s_sdlBits                         - SDL bit resolution
  s_sdlSpeed                        - SDL sample rate
  s_sdlChannels                     - SDL number of channels
  s_sdlDevSamps                     - SDL DMA buffer size override
  s_sdlMixSamps                     - SDL mix buffer size override

  s_backend                         - read only, indicates the current sound backend
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France



Postby dbozan99 » Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:13 am

While a UI place to modify OpenAL parameters would be nice, this still doesn't solve the Molotov fire sound problem...

Also, while I'm posting, I may as well bring up some other issues...
1. Talking with VoIP doesn't show who's talking. (No name in HUD)

2. VoIP seems really quite no matter what

3. You can't pick which Input you want to use for VoIP. I use a USB mic because my sound card's mic port seems to be broken...

4. (Untested) Is VoIP alltalk? or is it teams only? Is there a cvar for it? because I would hope it defaults to teams only (sv_alltalk 0)

5. Not sound related but whatever -- when you have less than 100 health or less than 10 bullets/knives/etc your count shows 9 instead of 09 (or 99 instead of 099 , for health), like in 1.0. This bothers me for two reasons: 1. I'm use to seeing it this way and 2. There are nice boxes drawn for the numbers to go into, and it looks silly when there is a big box but the number is squished to the side
Code: Select all
 ___                       ___
|099| Looks better than   | 99|
User avatar
dbozan99
Pistolero
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 5:14 am



Postby Tequila » Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:33 am

Thanks for post dzoban99,
about VoIP, I just create a new thread: About VoIP feature
where you'll find few responses.

About your point 5, I really don't like "099"... Maybe we should just replace that with a gauge.

You know we would prefer to fix true bugs as there are still few important ones. After that any such graphic/UI change can be tried, but this one is not significant for us and after all sometime thing changes so you'll be annoyed a few time and later you won't notice anymore. Just remind us when we think every important stuffs are fixed , or you may also ask for a feature request on the bug tracker or the related mailing list so we won't forget this.
So, please, check this thread: Submit bug reports and feature requests
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France



Postby Tequila » Wed Nov 04, 2009 12:07 am

With new v1.1b2, you'll find enhanced UI to help tuning sound subsystem with OpenAL.

Tell me what you think about that new UI. I'm putting here few screenshot:
[thumb=http://forum.smokin-guns.org/userpix/1560_shot0001_1.jpg][timg]1560_shot0001_1.jpg[/timg][/thumb]
[thumb=http://forum.smokin-guns.org/userpix/1560_shot0002_1.jpg][timg]1560_shot0002_1.jpg[/timg][/thumb]

You may notice you'll only be able to enable/disable OpenAL from the main menu. You'll be able to restart the sound too from the main menu. I don't think we need this in game.
For linux users essentially, you will be able to set the openal driver from the main menu. The new default is "libopenal.so.1", so try it if you still have "libopenal.so.0".
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France



Postby ReD NeCKersoN » Wed Nov 04, 2009 3:59 am

Tequila wrote:Tell me what you think about that new UI.

Very nice. :)
Image
User avatar
ReD NeCKersoN
SG Team
 
Posts: 3245
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2002 6:22 am
Location: VA, USA



Postby Sucalakafufu » Wed Nov 04, 2009 10:12 pm

good job Tequila!
SG Name: Sucalakafufu
Clan: [CWNN] - Clan With No Name
User avatar
Sucalakafufu
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 239
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:59 am



Postby Tequila » Mon Nov 09, 2009 3:52 pm

Can anyone confirm a minor but annoying problem I got with OpenAL support ? I especially want to know if the problem is present also under Windows.

I tried the new "Mute sound when minimized" option you can activate from the main "Game options" menu. I'm using windowed mode. When I open a console and minimized the game, the sound is then completely muted when the current sound backend is SDL. But when the sound backend is OpenAL, I can hear sound glitch for each new starting sound in the game. The glich is like sounds are playing for few milli seconds... I have this problem under linux x86_64 and sound initialization reports:
Code: Select all
------ Initializing Sound ------
Loading "libopenal.so.1"...
Allocated 96 sources.
OpenAL default capture device is 'ALSA Capture on default'
OpenAL capture device opened.
OpenAL info:
  Vendor:     OpenAL Community
  Version:    1.1 ALSOFT 1.8.466
  Renderer:   OpenAL Soft
  AL Extensions: AL_EXTX_buffer_sub_data AL_EXT_EXPONENT_DISTANCE AL_EXT_FLOAT32 AL_EXT_IMA4 AL_EXT_LINEAR_DISTANCE AL_EXT_MCFORMATS AL_EXT_OFFSET AL_EXTX_source_distance_model AL_LOKI_quadriphonic
  ALC Extensions: ALC_ENUMERATE_ALL_EXT ALC_ENUMERATION_EXT ALC_EXT_CAPTURE ALC_EXT_EFX
  Device:     ALSA Software
Available Devices:
ALSA Software
OSS Software
PortAudio Software
PulseAudio Software
Wave File Writer
Sound initialization successful.
--------------------------------


I still opened a bug on ioQuake3 bugzilla: http://bugzilla.icculus.org/show_bug.cgi?id=4336
And any other experience will help them, so tell me and I'll report or just participate to the bugzilla report.
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France



Postby DeUgli » Tue Nov 10, 2009 2:38 am

Tequila wrote:Tell me what you think about that new UI.

That's a great improvement. Tweaking the sound got rid of the hole in Hang 'Em High where the piano dropped out (on my XP machine) in the front of the saloon second story.
Irgendeiner wartet immer.
User avatar
DeUgli
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:29 am
Location: Seattle WA, USA



Postby ChainLightnin' » Tue Nov 10, 2009 3:57 am

On my Vista 64 machine, your nice piano piece still cuts off when I move a couple steps to the left at the top of the stairs. ( 1.1b2, Saloon, HeH). What did you tweak? Also Sweetwater? Did I miss that in the download?
Well...Mr. Chain Blue Lightnin' hisself..heh, heh!
User avatar
ChainLightnin'
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 389
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 4:09 am
Location: Montana



Next

Return to Release

Show Sidebar
Show Sidebar

User Control Panel

cron