With cordite in the air, splintered steel, shell casings and powder burns, there’s only one explanation...
Everything about Smokin' Guns releases

Moderators: torhu, Tequila

Your experiences with SG 1.1 beta 5a :

It works like a charm (better than SG 1.0)
15
65%
It works well (as good as SG 1.0)
8
35%
It does not work very well (worst than SG 1.0)
0
No votes
It was terrible (please explain why)
0
No votes
 
Total votes : 23

Postby ricochet » Wed Feb 29, 2012 2:49 am

dansh wrote:I have SVN630r, if you want SVN631r - I can compile it tomorrow, because now there is no possibility.
SVN630r


Umm - i can built the binaries - no problem. But could you try and run them on your Linux to see if the problem is linked to my OS or not?

If you've been bad - Lord I bet you have

And you've not been hit by flying lead

You'd better close your eyes, bow your head

Wait for the ricochet

User avatar
ricochet
Quick Draw
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany



Postby ricochet » Wed Feb 29, 2012 2:59 am

Joe Kari wrote:@ricochet:
As you may know, there are some ioq3 backport that were removed. Some of them intended to improve 64bits support.

Sorry for that, but actually those same backport caused a lot of trouble, and are not stable at all.


Hrm - we should fix this. Who isnt runing 64 Bit on Servers nowadays?

If you've been bad - Lord I bet you have

And you've not been hit by flying lead

You'd better close your eyes, bow your head

Wait for the ricochet

User avatar
ricochet
Quick Draw
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany



Re:

Postby dansh » Wed Mar 07, 2012 6:03 pm

ricochet wrote:
Joe Kari wrote:@ricochet:
As you may know, there are some ioq3 backport that were removed. Some of them intended to improve 64bits support.

Sorry for that, but actually those same backport caused a lot of trouble, and are not stable at all.


Hrm - we should fix this. Who isnt runing 64 Bit on Servers nowadays?


SVN631r - I have works fine on Debian squeeze x86_64.
That's working server: 78.47.60.18:27980 (Q3alive.Net |SG| MIX SVN631).
That's working files: http://q3alive.net/q3files/smokinguns/binary/
User avatar
dansh
Shootist
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 2:49 pm
Location: RF



Re:

Postby /dev/random » Wed Mar 07, 2012 8:43 pm

Joe Kari wrote:@ricochet:
As you may know, there are some ioq3 backport that were removed. Some of them intended to improve 64bits support.
Sorry for that, but actually those same backport caused a lot of trouble, and are not stable at all.

You must have messed up the backport then. I'm running 64 bit ioquake3/trunk client and server for multiple other games and it works flawlessly.
User avatar
/dev/random
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:58 pm



Re: Re:

Postby Joe Kari » Wed Mar 07, 2012 9:21 pm

/dev/random wrote:
Joe Kari wrote:@ricochet:
As you may know, there are some ioq3 backport that were removed. Some of them intended to improve 64bits support.
Sorry for that, but actually those same backport caused a lot of trouble, and are not stable at all.

You must have messed up the backport then. I'm running 64 bit ioquake3/trunk client and server for multiple other games and it works flawlessly.

That's not what I meant.
I mean: there is in the ioq3 bleeding edge SVN a lot of thing for 64bits support.
BUT: there are lot of trouble to build & run the project for windows.

I guess you ran that on a linux computer (your nickname looks like the one of a linux guy ;))

Also, the last stable (and ready for production) version of ioq3 were released in 2009. See the /tag directory of their SVN repository.
There is no guarantee at all that everything in /trunk have been tested intensively.
So while some people may run flawlessly bleeding edge ioq3, some may not.
We choose to not take that risk.

My personnal experience: it works well on my linux ubuntu, but it crashes or freezes on WinXP (with both Microsoft VC 9 & 10 build and MinGW build, but not the same way: MSVC crashes at map loading, MinGW crashes and freezes in some reproductible condition).
That's why we removed untrusted backport, and now it works like a charm on both OS.
User avatar
Joe Kari
SG Team
 
Posts: 878
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 8:44 pm
Location: France



Re: Beta testing on 1.1 beta 5a

Postby Joe Kari » Wed Mar 07, 2012 9:33 pm

Known issue with 1.1beta5a:

- the vote of gametype is broken ==> FIX: just pack the file gameinfo.txt into a pk3 (zip the file, rename it to some_random_name.pk3) and it will work
- mapcycle vote is broken
User avatar
Joe Kari
SG Team
 
Posts: 878
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 8:44 pm
Location: France



Re: Beta testing on 1.1 beta 5a

Postby sunrise » Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:33 pm

I played a bit multiplayer on ricochet's server.
-i didn't have any crash but the game froze for some seconds when another player connected, while i was looking at the scoreboard.(but it only happened once)
-some horrible mapbugs still exist (at least the bug in cobber where you can see through the ground in cobber should be fixed in 1.1, because it ruins the gameplay).
-the robbing bug (viewtopic.php?f=33&t=2994) still works

In my eyes the best change i noticed is that you cant move during the buying-countdown in bank robbery.
sunrise
Pistolero
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 6:05 pm



Re: Beta testing on 1.1 beta 5a

Postby /dev/random » Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:56 pm

sunrise wrote:-i didn't have any crash but the game froze for some seconds when another player connected, while i was looking at the scoreboard.(but it only happened once)

Sounds like the game loaded his playermodel, this might cause freezes with a slow hard disk. You can partially circumvent this by using the "forcemodel" option.
User avatar
/dev/random
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:58 pm



Re: Beta testing on 1.1 beta 5a

Postby sunrise » Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:05 am

I do :D
sunrise
Pistolero
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 6:05 pm



Re: Beta testing on 1.1 beta 5a

Postby Bart202 » Sat Mar 10, 2012 1:36 pm

Hey, It's me again!

We (BadBoys ;) ) tested very much on the new version, especially me!

I played in school, sorry teachers :P It works very fine there, the computers there are from 2003 and it laggs a bit, but is very stable! gREAT! --> next vote for is much better

I tested it on my brothers computer, works as fine as on my 1! --> next vote for is much better!

Vipan and Morgan tested it! very good! --> works better, stable

Gunny and other FAs tested it! ---> works better, stable

Dago tested it! --> works better ;)

I have just 1 problem, 1 computer where we had problems: RoSi, our Member had a weird ground, I will upload the picture. Was like this:
Facebook-Group of Smokin' Players

My hand toolz are colt peacemakers !°
User avatar
Bart202
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 8:12 am



Re: Beta testing on 1.1 beta 5a

Postby Bart202 » Sat Mar 10, 2012 1:40 pm

Facebook-Group of Smokin' Players

My hand toolz are colt peacemakers !°
User avatar
Bart202
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 8:12 am



Re: Beta testing on 1.1 beta 5a

Postby Bart202 » Mon Mar 12, 2012 5:29 pm

It works well on Bundy's computer also, no bugs, is stable. I hope I can help.
Facebook-Group of Smokin' Players

My hand toolz are colt peacemakers !°
User avatar
Bart202
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 8:12 am



Re: Beta testing on 1.1 beta 5a

Postby ReD NeCKersoN » Wed Mar 14, 2012 3:21 am

Seems to work well for me, although my sound went into a "loop bug" after exiting br_Alamo on singleplayer. (This was with music on & openAl enabled.) Starting a new map cured it.
Also, on the main GUI the version is listed as 1.1b4 & the date still reads 2005-2010. (Easy fix in a text file I think?)
I guess at some point soon you guys should really replace the credits screen, as it's quite outdated by now. (The roq credits movie was WAY too much trouble, so I'd suggest something simpler.)
Ran very smooth for me at 1920x1080 & highest graphics settings, but I have a new pc these days. :mrgreen: (Haven't tested the 'extra-special' effects as of this post.)

Relevant specs:
Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit
Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo Boost) Quad-Core
8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Nvidia GTX 570 - overclocked
Crucial M4 CT128M4SSD2 2.5" 128GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
Image
User avatar
ReD NeCKersoN
SG Team
 
Posts: 3240
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2002 6:22 am
Location: VA, USA



Re: Beta testing on 1.1 beta 5a

Postby Bodie » Sun Mar 18, 2012 12:29 am

Please include Lon's and Henry's maps in the package. Tijuana and Warehouse_Tiny if I recall.
SG names: Bodie (aka mS // Donnie).
Admin on Jeuxlinux, RAWHIDE, #sg.wars and some other servers.
User avatar
Bodie
Jeuxlinux Admin
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 7:59 pm



Re: Beta testing on 1.1 beta 5a

Postby Bart202 » Sun Mar 18, 2012 6:56 pm

Hey! I got a new tester, my cousin ;)

He tested it, all worked well but ..
he never played this game before .. so at first had a big problem to find Servers. I had to tell him to change it of local to internet.
I think it would be better if you would change it to internet from beginning! Thank you! for new guys it would be really helpful! For example I install the game .. can't find servers ... --> deinstall
find server --> play long time! maybe help devs of the game!
Thank you
Facebook-Group of Smokin' Players

My hand toolz are colt peacemakers !°
User avatar
Bart202
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 8:12 am



PreviousNext

Return to Release

Show Sidebar
Show Sidebar

User Control Panel