With cordite in the air, splintered steel, shell casings and powder burns, there’s only one explanation...
WQ3 pre B2.2 archive. Links may not work.

Test server...

Postby BNT » Sat May 27, 2006 1:37 pm

Edit by ReD: The test server is 80.190.243.49:27963 & requires the password hocico to connect.
Server info can be seen at http://www.bootblock.de/wq3



Hi,

i cant connect to the test server, because of "uknown game type"

on the bootlock page, there are also no "Game" and "Punkbuster" infos...

whats the matter?
User avatar
BNT
SG Team
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:30 pm
Location: Ger



Re: Test server...

Postby sig11 » Sat May 27, 2006 1:55 pm

BNT wrote:Hi,

i cant connect to the test server, because of "uknown game type"


Hmmm, I've never experienced that kind of error ... are you connecting from within Q3A, or from within WQ3 or even from bootblock.de with one of the tools ? Especially the latter may not work correctly since I hardly could test it.


on the bootlock page, there are also no "Game" and "Punkbuster" infos...

whats the matter?


That is a bug in the code creating the bootblock page. The test server is a standalone version which does not know about punkbuster anymore. I made a quick workaround.
In-game name: =SG= Django (yes, it's cliché :-) )
User avatar
sig11
SG Team
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Germany



Postby BNT » Sat May 27, 2006 2:06 pm

i start the games via hlsw.

btw, in the hlsw, for the game on the test server, where usualy is wrotten "Q3 - westernq3", here s wrotten "Q3Comp - western q3"
User avatar
BNT
SG Team
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:30 pm
Location: Ger



Postby BNT » Sat May 27, 2006 3:45 pm

other problem: the servoer is setted for 0 players, and say server full.

btw, i saw hellrider play on it 8O
ingame name: *frantic romeo* / *BNT* / *Buck Ned Tatscher* and maybe more...
User avatar
BNT
SG Team
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:30 pm
Location: Ger



Postby torhu » Sat May 27, 2006 4:02 pm

That's because sv_privateClients are set to 16, and so are sv_maxclients. So there are room for 16 players with password, but none without. The reason for using sv_privateClients instead of setting g_needpass to 1, is that the bots can't join when g_needpass is 1.

ASE shows zero for max players for me, too.
In game: =SG=monSter
Monster Browser
User avatar
torhu
SG Team
 
Posts: 1120
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 8:12 pm
Location: Norway



Postby sig11 » Sat May 27, 2006 4:12 pm

BNT wrote:i start the games via hlsw.

btw, in the hlsw, for the game on the test server, where usualy is wrotten "Q3 - westernq3", here s wrotten "Q3Comp - western q3"


That's quite interesing. hlsw seems to check the engine name and detects that this is a standalone engine where I modified the version string. I can't look into joinging from hlsw before Monday. Otherwise, torhu said already everything.
In-game name: =SG= Django (yes, it's cliché :-) )
User avatar
sig11
SG Team
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Germany



Postby Hellrider » Sat May 27, 2006 10:27 pm

Could it be that there is an old version of wq_mine on this test server??


@sig11: could you please add the new maps to the test server?
User avatar
Hellrider
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:09 pm
Location: Karlsruhe ,Germany



Postby Caffeine » Sat May 27, 2006 10:39 pm

First impressions:

I'm quite happy with online play in the test version. With 2.1, playing on servers with a >100 ping was painful. That problem appears to be gone with the new unlagged code (defaults settings, too).

My only concern now is how well it scales; I suggest that you organize a full 16-player game before release, if at all possible. With a server maxrate of 8000, though, it might be laggy regardless.

Also, could you put wq_coyotebluff on the server? :)
Caffeine
Pistolero
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 9:33 am
Location: Michigan



Postby Caffeine » Sat May 27, 2006 11:01 pm

Hellrider wrote:Could it be that there is an old version of wq_mine on this test server??
?

That was wq_town that we were playing on.

Image

As far as I can tell, it's not possible to drop down to the ladder from that spot, in both 2.1 and the current test version. The map didn't change. :)
Caffeine
Pistolero
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 9:33 am
Location: Michigan



Postby ReD NeCKersoN » Sun May 28, 2006 6:56 am

Caffeine wrote:The map didn't change. :)

Correct. I do plan to make changes to wq_town in the near future.
User avatar
ReD NeCKersoN
SG Team
 
Posts: 3245
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2002 6:22 am
Location: VA, USA



Postby Hellrider » Sun May 28, 2006 4:41 pm

OH...8O
Seems that i got a little bit confused yesterday or maybe i got a free trip into the near future... :lol:
Image
User avatar
Hellrider
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:09 pm
Location: Karlsruhe ,Germany



Postby sig11 » Sun May 28, 2006 11:54 pm

About the maps: Yes, they are the ones from 2.1, i.e. no revised maps and no new maps like highnoon, backwater and coyotebluff. I will add them. Either later tonight or tomorrow.

Adding all maps wasn't a high priority for me since for testing the unlagged code and similar stuff we don't really require every map ;-) ... but I can see wanting to play the latest maps - so that multiplayer can get tested there, too.

About changing maps: remember that you can vote and that you can use rcon. And once you kicked the chain totally out of order ;-) ... the game just keeps sitting at one map. Check the cvars "nextmap" and the various "d1" "d2" etc.
In-game name: =SG= Django (yes, it's cliché :-) )
User avatar
sig11
SG Team
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Germany



Postby Hellrider » Mon May 29, 2006 2:47 am

Cool, the new maps have been added to the test server. Thanks to sig11!!

Now i just need a few players to fight against... :D
Image
User avatar
Hellrider
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:09 pm
Location: Karlsruhe ,Germany



Postby hika » Wed Jun 07, 2006 1:15 pm

torhu wrote:That's because sv_privateClients are set to 16, and so are sv_maxclients. So there are room for 16 players with password, but none without. The reason for using sv_privateClients instead of setting g_needpass to 1, is that the bots can't join when g_needpass is 1.

ASE shows zero for max players for me, too.

Yeah, I have just launched a testing server with sv_privateClients and sv_maxclients set to 20.
For me too, I see 0/0 players in game server browsing. And more, there are bots playing. In bootblock, the numbers are correct.

BTW, it is called Wasteland - Testing, the address is 213.251.174.81:27962, the password is polompom
SG name: Manchot
SG fansite: http://western.bsdmon.com
Image
userbar originally created by Caffeine
User avatar
hika
SG Team
 
Posts: 703
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Trévoux, France



Postby sig11 » Thu Jun 08, 2006 2:47 pm

My test server seems to crash from time to time. If anybody can reproduce that, please tell me how. The log files so far are not very helpful ... I hope I can fix this :|
In-game name: =SG= Django (yes, it's cliché :-) )
User avatar
sig11
SG Team
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Germany



Next

Return to WQ3 Beta 2.2 Testing

Show Sidebar
Show Sidebar

User Control Panel