With cordite in the air, splintered steel, shell casings and powder burns, there’s only one explanation...
Pre SG 1.0 archive

Mac osx --does not work

Postby Puddytang » Sat Mar 31, 2007 10:10 pm

I am running an intel mac
Click on the ioquake.app --nothing happens. There is no information returned in the Mac's console.
It makes me think I am missing some of the librarys required for ioquake because of a forum post I saw, but I'm having trouble googleing back to this information.
Is there a way to run the app in the Terminal to see if I get any errors there?
Has anyone run it on a PowerPC based mac with no problems? It should run automatically on Intel under rosetta, but maybe rosetta is not recognizing it or something.
Isn't there a Universal version of ioquake? since all macs will presumably be Intel from here on out.
I am going to try a few more things to see if I can start it. :cry:
Puddytang
Drifter
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 4:27 am



Re: Mac osx --does not work

Postby hika » Sat Mar 31, 2007 11:37 pm

Puddytang wrote:Isn't there a Universal version of ioquake?

As far as I know, there is universal binary you can find at http://www.ioquake3.org/?page=get
I'm sorry I cannot help you further, since I'm not a MacOS specialist :oops:
SG name: Manchot
SG fansite: http://western.bsdmon.com
Image
userbar originally created by Caffeine
User avatar
hika
SG Team
 
Posts: 703
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Trévoux, France



Postby sig11 » Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:43 pm

I haven't tried ioquake on MacOS either. But we have a MacOS version (PPC though) for WQ3 (which currently is only available to beta testers). Nevertheless, I'll descrtibe what you would have to do. Just exchange WQ3 names for IOQ3 names.

start a "Terminal" and change into the App by doing:
Code: Select all
cd [wherever you installed everything]
cd Westernquake3.app/Contents/MacOS

there you will find the actual program:
Code: Select all
ls -l
file *

will tell you what you actually have.

And you can start it with
Code: Select all
./Westernquake3


As I said, exchange Westernquake3 with whatever IOQ put there.
In-game name: =SG= Django (yes, it's cliché :-) )
User avatar
sig11
SG Team
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Germany



Postby aquarius » Sun Apr 08, 2007 9:10 am

I tried it on my machine with 10.4.9 (intel) and everything seems to work. But why is there no universal binary? Do you need help creating one?
aquarius
Shootist
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 11:32 pm
Location: Austria



Postby hika » Sun Apr 08, 2007 11:18 am

aquarius wrote:But why is there no universal binary? Do you need help creating one?

I guess it is because of the lack of a Mac OSX Intel in the dev team ? or maybe a lack of time ?
We already have a chance to have sig11 providing us a Mac version :D
If you can help us in creating a Mac universal binary, bet we will be more than happier 8)
SG name: Manchot
SG fansite: http://western.bsdmon.com
Image
userbar originally created by Caffeine
User avatar
hika
SG Team
 
Posts: 703
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Trévoux, France



Postby sig11 » Sun Apr 08, 2007 12:29 pm

Hika essentially said everything already.

Up until recently I only had access to a PPC Mac. This changed recently, although it's only a Xserve, but shortly we should also have an Intel based Mac mini.

Furthermore, since we are not based on ioq3, I would have to adapt the JIT compiler. This should not be such a big problem. Either I take the Linux version, or I compare to what ioq3 did.
In-game name: =SG= Django (yes, it's cliché :-) )
User avatar
sig11
SG Team
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Germany



Postby aquarius » Tue Apr 10, 2007 9:22 am

sig11 wrote:Hika essentially said everything already.

Up until recently I only had access to a PPC Mac. This changed recently, although it's only a Xserve, but shortly we should also have an Intel based Mac mini.


I just wanted to add, that you don't require an intel-based Mac to compile for intel OS X. You can also create UBs on PPC using GCC4.0 and both intel and pcc versions of all statical linked libraries.
aquarius
Shootist
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 11:32 pm
Location: Austria



Postby hika » Tue Apr 10, 2007 1:30 pm

aquarius wrote:I just wanted to add, that you don't require an intel-based Mac to compile for intel OS X.

What you said should be true, and I will not question you about. I think it is what we call cross compilation ?
Either way, to release something functional, compilation/build are generally not enough. We have to test it on the (real ?) target system (and architecture).
If you could be a help, we would gladly ask you to. ;)
SG name: Manchot
SG fansite: http://western.bsdmon.com
Image
userbar originally created by Caffeine
User avatar
hika
SG Team
 
Posts: 703
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Trévoux, France



Postby sig11 » Tue Apr 10, 2007 5:05 pm

aquarius wrote:I just wanted to add, that you don't require an intel-based Mac to compile for intel OS X. You can also create UBs on PPC using GCC4.0 and both intel and pcc versions of all statical linked libraries.


Hmmm, thanks! But in addition to the testing, hika mentioned, I think simply compiling the file qcommon/vm_ppc.c in Intel mode won't create a working Mac Intel engine ;-) ... since this is the heart of the JIT compiler and creates PPC opcodes. Maybe simply using qcommon/vm_x86.c instead will already work. Then I only need to understand XCode ;-) ... so far I was doing a lot of trial and error with this IDE (I'm just not an IDE kind of guy ...)
In-game name: =SG= Django (yes, it's cliché :-) )
User avatar
sig11
SG Team
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Germany



Postby aquarius » Fri Apr 13, 2007 10:37 pm

sig11 wrote:Hmmm, thanks! But in addition to the testing, hika mentioned, I think simply compiling the file qcommon/vm_ppc.c in Intel mode won't create a working Mac Intel engine ;-) ... since this is the heart of the JIT compiler and creates PPC opcodes. Maybe simply using qcommon/vm_x86.c instead will already work. Then I only need to understand XCode ;-) ... so far I was doing a lot of trial and error with this IDE (I'm just not an IDE kind of guy ...)


If you don't like XCode, don't use it. You can do everything from the CLI. Just take a look at the ioquake trunk. They use a makefile to create an UB.

I'm doing a lot of Cocoa development at the moment and I have to say that I'm beginning to like XCode. It's probably not the best IDE, but Apple made some major improvements in 3.0.
aquarius
Shootist
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 11:32 pm
Location: Austria



Postby Clintstone » Tue Apr 17, 2007 9:35 am

Hi everyone,

just an update from my side in this matter... It seems that WQ3 SA does not run on MacOSX 10.3.9 Panther on PPC. :| Is this intentional? Otherwise I'd be glad to give more information about the displayed error. 10.4.9/PPC no problems though.

Cheers,

Clintstone
User avatar
Clintstone
Quick Draw
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:14 pm
Location: Muenster, Germany



Postby sig11 » Tue Apr 17, 2007 9:40 pm

aquarius wrote:If you don't like XCode, don't use it. You can do everything from the CLI. Just take a look at the ioquake trunk. They use a makefile to create an UB.

I know ;-) ... Also, there is "xcodebuild" which I recently discovered.

Clintstone wrote:It seems that WQ3 SA does not run on MacOSX 10.3.9 Panther on PPC. :| Is this intentional? Otherwise I'd be glad to give more information about the displayed error.

No, this is not intentional. I simply happen to have 10.4.X only. And yes, I'd like to have the error message. Maybe I can make some sense of it.
In-game name: =SG= Django (yes, it's cliché :-) )
User avatar
sig11
SG Team
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Germany



Postby Clintstone » Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:09 pm

sig11 wrote:
Clintstone wrote:It seems that WQ3 SA does not run on MacOSX 10.3.9 Panther on PPC. :| Is this intentional? Otherwise I'd be glad to give more information about the displayed error.

No, this is not intentional. I simply happen to have 10.4.X only. And yes, I'd like to have the error message. Maybe I can make some sense of it.


Thanks for your effort, sig11 :) . When starting in Finder, nothing happens. When starting from shell, this is the output:

werw:~/Spiele/Westernquake3/Westernquake3.app/Contents/MacOS $ ./Westernquake3
2007-04-18 17:38:01.578 Westernquake3[533] Unable to load nib file: Quake3.nib, exiting


The files exist, though. If I forgot to do something that I should have seen, please excuse me.

Until then, Clintstone
User avatar
Clintstone
Quick Draw
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:14 pm
Location: Muenster, Germany



Postby sig11 » Thu Apr 19, 2007 12:22 am

hmmm ... even after googling around I couldn't think of what the problem could be.
Reinstall ? Double Check permissions ? :?
In-game name: =SG= Django (yes, it's cliché :-) )
User avatar
sig11
SG Team
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Germany



Postby Clintstone » Mon Apr 23, 2007 8:34 pm

Hi sig11,

thanks again for your advices, unfortunately none of them worked. File permissions are all set to 777 (as last hope :wink: ), downloaded game again... Anyone around here who can tell that 10.3.9 doesn't make any problems? So I knew that the mistake is on my side... :| Thanks for hints,

till then,

Clintstone
User avatar
Clintstone
Quick Draw
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:14 pm
Location: Muenster, Germany



Next

Return to Stand-alone Testing

Show Sidebar
Show Sidebar

User Control Panel

cron