With cordite in the air, splintered steel, shell casings and powder burns, there’s only one explanation...
Discuss & improve the game engine.

Moderators: sparcdr, torhu, Tequila

Postby sparcdr » Thu Apr 09, 2009 3:55 pm

Thanks for the heads up. What is your recommendation for me porting over Windows build files? Would you recommend from ioquake3 or try and migrate 1.0?
sparcdr
SG Team
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 3:41 pm



Postby Tequila » Thu Apr 09, 2009 4:26 pm

Hi,

your should try to use the ioQuake3 way for the building. You still can check their wiki: Building_ioQuake3

You can start also by editing the ioq3 solution files for msvc building that you can find in their repository under /trunk/misc/msvc and create our misc/msvc for that (I didn't imported that in our sf svn).

You can check and make a diff between our Makefile and their own if you want accurate modification to report. Btw, I still can resume here:
  • You must "define" for the preprocessor the followings:
    - STANDALONE
    - SMOKINGUNS (must be defined also for QVM builds)
    - PRODUCT_VERSION (but not mandatory as there is a default in sources)
    - SG_RELEASE (but not mandatory as there is a default in sources)
  • You must NOT define MISSIONPACK
  • You'll find in our "Makefile.local" the lists of files for the compilation that differs from ioQ3 one.

Good luck ;)
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France



Windows engine build 182

Postby sparcdr » Sat Apr 11, 2009 2:35 am

Engine is now building on Windows with Visual Studio (C++) 2008 with revision 182. We need to fix QVM build proceedure for 1.1 on Windows platform before the binary is usable as the checksum is not valid. You will need only Visual C++ 2008 (Express should work, I use Professional) and not DirectX SDK or OpenAL SDK anymore (SDL, speex, OpenAL, and curl libraries are bundled on SVN). I will post binaries once we fix QVM build process.
sparcdr
SG Team
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 3:41 pm



Postby torhu » Sat Apr 11, 2009 5:42 pm

[quote="Tequila"]
  • You must "define" for the preprocessor the followings:
    - STANDALONE
    - SMOKINGUNS (must be defined also for QVM builds)
    - PRODUCT_VERSION (but not mandatory as there is a default in sources)
    - SG_RELEASE (but not mandatory as there is a default in sources)
  • You must NOT define MISSIONPACK
/quote]
What's the difference between vm and binary builds? Which defines should be used for each?
In game: =SG=monSter
Monster Browser
User avatar
torhu
SG Team
 
Posts: 1125
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 8:12 pm
Location: Norway



Postby Tequila » Sat Apr 11, 2009 6:24 pm

What's the difference between vm and binary builds? Which defines should be used for each?

    * SMOKINGUNS must be used in VM & binary builds, only this one for binary
    * CGAME is used only for CGAME VM build
    * QAGAME is used only for GAME VM build
    * UI only for UI VM build
Check q_shared.h, I replaced the line where there was SMOKINGUNS_SO used.
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France



Postby torhu » Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:55 pm

Thanks, buildvm.bat works now. :D
In game: =SG=monSter
Monster Browser
User avatar
torhu
SG Team
 
Posts: 1125
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 8:12 pm
Location: Norway



Postby Tequila » Tue Apr 14, 2009 2:37 pm

Then I fixed in the last updates few things, and r194 should be fine for a real Beta-Testing.

I still started a "SG1.1/BETA1/Tequila" server running 1.1_SVN194 engine and 1.1_SVN194 mod. It is set up to accept any client with 1.0 only QVMs ("unpure" server) but the server is really running the compiled 1.1 QAGAME for which the code was merged with ioQ3 v1.36.

We still know AI for bots has been a little broken in team gametypes (TDM,RTP and BR) so don't worry for that I will review this part asap.

I hope sparcdr will propose r194 beta-testing level binaries for Windows clients very soon. Thanks sparcdr for your job ;)
Btw I must also thank Lucky_Bro who maintained a little pressure level on us by IRC in the last days and he discovered few mistakes in our QVM build under windows... so thank you Lucky_Bro

Then feel free to connect to our BETA1 server and check that server stability ;) even if you don't have the new client version.

You should report any complain in a new dedicated thread or on the SG bug database on SF, thanks a lot.
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France



Postby Redwing » Sun Apr 19, 2009 7:35 pm

Ok, I really have no idea what I'm doing here. I'm running 32 bit Windows XP, I don't own Quake 3 and I'm playing it all by ear.

I tried to copy everything which was not in the ioQuake3 folder and was in the Smokin' Guns folder to the ioQuake3 folder. Essentially, I copied \smokinguns to ioQuake3, along with pak0.pk3 and a bunch of other random files. When I run ioquake3.x86 I get:
Code: Select all
ioQ3 1.34-rc3 win_mingw-x86 Dec  1 2006
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
C:\Documents and Settings\Grant\Application Data\Quake3/baseq3
C:\Program Files\ioquake3\baseq3\pak8.pk3 (9 files)
C:\Program Files\ioquake3\baseq3\pak7.pk3 (4 files)
C:\Program Files\ioquake3\baseq3\pak6.pk3 (64 files)
C:\Program Files\ioquake3\baseq3\pak5.pk3 (7 files)
C:\Program Files\ioquake3\baseq3\pak4.pk3 (272 files)
C:\Program Files\ioquake3\baseq3\pak3.pk3 (4 files)
C:\Program Files\ioquake3\baseq3\pak2.pk3 (148 files)
C:\Program Files\ioquake3\baseq3\pak1.pk3 (26 files)
C:\Program Files\ioquake3\baseq3\pak0.pk3 (107 files)
C:\Program Files\ioquake3/baseq3

----------------------
641 files in pk3 files


**************************************************
WARNING: pak0.pk3 is present but its checksum (2206249363)
is not correct. Please re-copy pak0.pk3 from your
legitimate Q3 CDROM.
**************************************************


Couldn't load default.cfg


Feel free to laugh at me for my inability to understand anything I'm doing.
DeviantArt|Music
Jesus wrote:Blessed are the Peacemakers, for they will be called the sons of God
User avatar
Redwing
Shootist
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 8:50 pm



Postby Tequila » Mon Apr 20, 2009 10:01 am

:D
Maybe you forgot to add the following on the command line:
Code: Select all
+set fs_game smokinguns
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France



Postby Redwing » Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:35 pm

Tequila wrote::D
Maybe you forgot to add the following on the command line:
Code: Select all
+set fs_game smokinguns

To reiterate: treat me like a 5 year old child. I have no idea what I'm doing.

That said, please tell me where to add this command line. Obviously I cannot access the console (where I was planning to put it) because the game won't start.

I'm so bad at this, lol :lol:
DeviantArt|Music
Jesus wrote:Blessed are the Peacemakers, for they will be called the sons of God
User avatar
Redwing
Shootist
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 8:50 pm



Postby Tequila » Mon Apr 20, 2009 10:31 pm

Then if you're starting the game with a double-clic on the ioquake3.exe, you should better create a shortcut and edit it to add "+set fs_game smokinguns"... but sorry I don't have a windows next to me so I won't be able to help you more...
Any volonteer aound there ;)
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France



Postby Redwing » Mon Apr 20, 2009 10:44 pm

Tequila wrote:Then if you're starting the game with a double-clic on the ioquake3.exe, you should better create a shortcut and edit it to add "+set fs_game smokinguns"... but sorry I don't have a windows next to me so I won't be able to help you more...
Any volonteer aound there ;)

Yeah, that doesn't help me much. Where would I theoretically add that? I can't add it to the path, or it's an invalid path. Can't add it to the name of the shortcut, that doesn't do anything.

:?
DeviantArt|Music
Jesus wrote:Blessed are the Peacemakers, for they will be called the sons of God
User avatar
Redwing
Shootist
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 8:50 pm



Postby Pardner » Tue Apr 21, 2009 12:05 am

if you right click on the shortcut you should find a space named "Target" add
Code: Select all
+set fs_game smokinguns

to the end of the target space.
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA



Postby Redwing » Tue Apr 21, 2009 12:41 am

Pardner wrote:if you right click on the shortcut you should find a space named "Target" add
Code: Select all
+set fs_game smokinguns

to the end of the target space.

Error:

"The name '"C:\ProgramFiles\ioquake3\ioquake3.x86.exe+set' specified in the Target box is not valid. Make sure the path and file name are correct.
DeviantArt|Music
Jesus wrote:Blessed are the Peacemakers, for they will be called the sons of God
User avatar
Redwing
Shootist
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 8:50 pm



Postby Pardner » Tue Apr 21, 2009 12:58 am

So your complete target says:
Code: Select all
"C:\ProgramFiles\ioquake3\ioquake3.x86.exe" +set fs_game smokinguns

Just to be sure because its not clear from your Error message. The "+set" is just like entering commands into the console, but it does it before the game is launched.
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA



PreviousNext

Return to Code

Show Sidebar
Show Sidebar

User Control Panel

cron