With cordite in the air, splintered steel, shell casings and powder burns, there’s only one explanation...
For all you mappers out there!

Moderators: Pardner, Joe Kari, TheDoctor, Breli

Postby Pardner » Fri Feb 20, 2009 6:01 pm

MachoBastard wrote:oh..so is that, ive 321 lol :D , didnt know there were a limit that kinda sux, ill have to delete some and improvise with some brushes and stuff, bye bye farm :|

Wow each of those little bushes was a model! ouch! that should be pretty easy to do in brush work though. Just use the texture, make an alpha channel, and copy my fern script (or any plan shader for that matter)

MachoBastard wrote:omg, i was already done with the visuals and the collisions

you can never be dont with visuals :D
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA



Postby Breli » Fri Feb 20, 2009 6:04 pm

wait: you dont have to delete models. Try turning your bushes into a single model if the brushes in your map (the green ons standing in a row) are individual models.

I don't know whether there is a limit. I'd bet it'll be 128 or 256 if there is one.
SG name: =SG= BRELI

Harmonica: Did you bring a horse?
Gunmen: Looks like we are short on one horse!
Harmonica: No. You brought two too many.
User avatar
Breli
SG Team
 
Posts: 906
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 10:08 am
Location: Germany



Postby MachoBastard » Fri Feb 20, 2009 6:10 pm

yeah, each bush are individual ASE models, how do i turn em into a single model?..wouldnt that need for extra models when tryin to play the map?
User avatar
MachoBastard
SG Contributor
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 12:39 pm



Postby Breli » Fri Feb 20, 2009 6:53 pm

Very easy: Copy all your bushes or at least one row and insert them in an empty map. Make a model out of them and TADA insert them back in as one model ;) ... check this tutorial if you dont know how to turn brushwork into ase models.

You dont even have to clip anything which is why I prefer to insert bushes as models anyway.
SG name: =SG= BRELI

Harmonica: Did you bring a horse?
Gunmen: Looks like we are short on one horse!
Harmonica: No. You brought two too many.
User avatar
Breli
SG Team
 
Posts: 906
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 10:08 am
Location: Germany



Postby ReD NeCKersoN » Fri Feb 20, 2009 7:17 pm

@ MachoB: I just emailed all of the plant prefabs I have to you with an explanation of how to use them. No clipping required.
User avatar
ReD NeCKersoN
SG Team
 
Posts: 3245
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2002 6:22 am
Location: VA, USA



Postby MachoBastard » Fri Feb 20, 2009 7:32 pm

Nice, thanks for the prefabs red, but seems the error its not the misc models, deleted all the bushes rows except one leaving a total of 190 models, and im still getting "MAX_SUBMODELS exceeded", is there a limit for brushes,func_static or detail brushes?..
User avatar
MachoBastard
SG Contributor
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 12:39 pm



Postby MachoBastard » Fri Feb 20, 2009 7:38 pm

oh, heres the q3map2 log, sorry forgot:

Code: Select all
C:\>cd C:/Program files/Smokin' Guns/

C:\Program Files\Smokin' Guns>"smokinguns\compiler\q3map2.exe" -meta -fs_basepat
h "C:\Program files\Smokin' Guns" "smokinguns\maps\barriles.map"
2.5.16
1 threads
Q3Map            - v1.0r (c) 1999 Id Software Inc.
Q3Map (ydnar)    - v2.5.16
GtkRadiant       - v1.5.0 Jan 19 2009 00:36:52
Like mom used to make

Modified for Smokin' Guns - v0.0.2 Experimental version. Use at your own risk.
VFS Init: C:/Program files/Smokin' Guns/smokinguns/

--- BSP ---
Creating meta surfaces from brush faces
entering scripts/shaderlist.txt
entering scripts/common.shader
entering scripts/joekari.shader
entering scripts/sg.shader
WARNING: Unknown material "water"
Loading C:/Program Files/Smokin' Guns/smokinguns\maps\barriles.map
entering C:/Program Files/Smokin' Guns/smokinguns\maps\barriles.map
Entity 0, Brush 163: duplicate plane
Entity 0, Brush 163: duplicate plane
Entity 0, Brush 163: duplicate plane
Entity 273, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 274, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 275, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 276, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 277, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 318, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 319, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 320, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 321, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 322, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 323, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 324, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 326, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 327, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 328, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 332, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 333, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 334, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 335, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 336, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 337, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 338, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 339, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 340, Brush 0: duplicate plane
Entity 341, Brush 0: duplicate plane
        0 areaportals
Size: -2056, -2068, -10400 to  6232,  3048, -7448
block size = { 1024 1024 1024 }
Entity 73, Brush 0: Entity leaked
      267 leafs filled
writing C:/Program Files/Smokin' Guns/smokinguns\maps\barriles.prt
WARNING: misc_model at 2124 -1192 -8204 without a model key
WARNING: Couldn't find image for shader textures/base_trim/pewter
WARNING: misc_model at 3508 -20 -8818 without a model key
WARNING: misc_model at 1572 -1354 -8854 without a model key
--- WriteSurfaceExtraFile ---
Writing C:/Program Files/Smokin' Guns/smokinguns\maps\barriles.srf
Writing C:/Program Files/Smokin' Guns/smokinguns\maps\barriles.tex ...
Writing C:/Program Files/Smokin' Guns/smokinguns\maps\barriles.bsp
Wrote 5.7 MB (5987260 bytes)
      486 seconds elapsed

C:\Program Files\Smokin' Guns>"smokinguns\compiler\q3map2.exe" -vis -fs_basepath
 "C:\Program files\Smokin' Guns" "smokinguns\maps\barriles.bsp"
2.5.16
1 threads
Q3Map            - v1.0r (c) 1999 Id Software Inc.
Q3Map (ydnar)    - v2.5.16
GtkRadiant       - v1.5.0 Jan 19 2009 00:36:52
Like mom used to make

Modified for Smokin' Guns - v0.0.2 Experimental version. Use at your own risk.
VFS Init: C:/Program files/Smokin' Guns/smokinguns/

--- Vis ---
Loading C:/Program Files/Smokin' Guns/smokinguns\maps\barriles.bsp
WARNING: Couldn't find image for shader textures/sg_sky/wald
WARNING: Couldn't find image for shader textures/sg_sfx/sgfire
WARNING: Couldn't find image for shader textures/sg_water/water_water4b
WARNING: Couldn't find image for shader textures/sg_plant/bush_leaves
WARNING: Couldn't find image for shader textures/base_trim/pewter
WARNING: Couldn't find image for shader textures/sg_plant/bush_leaves_back
WARNING: Couldn't find image for shader textures/sg_glass/glass_nolight2x
Loading C:/Program Files/Smokin' Guns/smokinguns\maps\barriles.prt
  1010 portalclusters
  3262 numportals
  3125 numfaces
  6524 active portals
     0 hint portals
visdatasize:129288

--- BasePortalVis (6524) ---
0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9... (5)
      8 average number of passages per leaf
     20 MB required passage memory

--- CreatePassages (6524) ---
0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9... (9)

--- PassagePortalFlow (6524) ---
0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9... (366)
creating leaf vis...
Total visible clusters: 360299
Average clusters visible: 356
Writing C:/Program Files/Smokin' Guns/smokinguns\maps\barriles.tex ...
Writing C:/Program Files/Smokin' Guns/smokinguns\maps\barriles.bsp
Wrote 5.8 MB (6116548 bytes)
      382 seconds elapsed

C:\Program Files\Smokin' Guns>"smokinguns\compiler\q3map2.exe" -light -fs_basepa
th "C:\Program files\Smokin' Guns" "smokinguns\maps\barriles.bsp"
2.5.16
1 threads
Q3Map            - v1.0r (c) 1999 Id Software Inc.
Q3Map (ydnar)    - v2.5.16
GtkRadiant       - v1.5.0 Jan 19 2009 00:36:52
Like mom used to make

Modified for Smokin' Guns - v0.0.2 Experimental version. Use at your own risk.
VFS Init: C:/Program files/Smokin' Guns/smokinguns/

--- Light ---
entering scripts/shaderlist.txt
entering scripts/common.shader
entering scripts/joekari.shader
entering scripts/sg.shader
WARNING: Unknown material "water"
Loading C:/Program Files/Smokin' Guns/smokinguns\maps\barriles.bsp
Loading C:/Program Files/Smokin' Guns/smokinguns\maps\barriles.srf
Loading C:/Program Files/Smokin' Guns/smokinguns\maps\barriles.map
entering C:/Program Files/Smokin' Guns/smokinguns\maps\barriles.map
--- SetupGrid ---
Grid size = { 64, 64, 128 }
   239200 grid points
       19 point lights
        0 spotlights
       10 diffuse (area) lights
      109 sun/sky lights
      138 total lights
        0 culled lights
--- TraceGrid ---
0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9... (106)
130 x 80 x 23 = 239200 grid
--- MapRawLightmap ---
0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9... (2)
  1057837 luxels
   618847 luxels mapped
    41841 luxels occluded
      138 total lights
        0 culled lights
--- IlluminateRawLightmap ---
0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9... (328)
  1057837 luxels illuminated
--- IlluminateVertexes ---
0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9... (29)
    99242 vertexes illuminated
Writing C:/Program Files/Smokin' Guns/smokinguns\maps\barriles.tex ...
--- StoreSurfaceLightmaps ---
   792733 luxels used
   786432 luxels stored (100.80 percent efficiency)
     1237 solid surface lightmaps
     2164 identical surface lightmaps, using 60923 luxels
        0 vertex forced surfaces
        0 vertex approximated surfaces
       48 BSP lightmaps
       48 total lightmaps
      264 unique lightmap/shader combinations
Writing C:/Program Files/Smokin' Guns/smokinguns\maps\barriles.bsp
Wrote 9.9 MB (10389444 bytes)
      496 seconds elapsed

C:\Program Files\Smokin' Guns>pause
Press any key to continue . . .
User avatar
MachoBastard
SG Contributor
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 12:39 pm



Postby ReD NeCKersoN » Fri Feb 20, 2009 7:42 pm

MachoBastard wrote:im still getting "MAX_SUBMODELS exceeded".

Google is a wonderful thing.
Common Map Errors
My first suspicion is a high number of breakables.
User avatar
ReD NeCKersoN
SG Team
 
Posts: 3245
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2002 6:22 am
Location: VA, USA



Postby MachoBastard » Fri Feb 20, 2009 7:46 pm

oh, ic..but does "brush entities" refer to all of em? like func_static, breakable,detail brushes?..mergin some of em could help me reduce the number?.. :|
User avatar
MachoBastard
SG Contributor
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 12:39 pm



Postby ReD NeCKersoN » Fri Feb 20, 2009 7:49 pm

Afaik, detail brushes are NOT entities. Anything that starts with func_ at the beginning IS.
User avatar
ReD NeCKersoN
SG Team
 
Posts: 3245
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2002 6:22 am
Location: VA, USA



Postby L3th4l » Fri Feb 20, 2009 7:52 pm

MAX_SUBMODELS exceeded means you exceeded the amount of brush entities (Doors, Trigger_*s, rotating objects, ect.). The limit is 256.

Keep in mind that you can make one brush entity out of several brushes, and it only counts as one. :wink:
User avatar
L3th4l
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 1948
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 8:06 am
Location: Binghamton, NY. USA



Postby MachoBastard » Fri Feb 20, 2009 8:05 pm

Ok..this map info its not making sense to me according to what ur tellin me...got confused! :?

Image

i think my map just got screwed! :)
User avatar
MachoBastard
SG Contributor
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 12:39 pm



Postby L3th4l » Fri Feb 20, 2009 8:15 pm

You have

181 func_breakables

85 func_static

15 func_door_rotating

That equals 281 brush entities.

Your 24 over the limit :wink:
User avatar
L3th4l
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 1948
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 8:06 am
Location: Binghamton, NY. USA



Postby ReD NeCKersoN » Fri Feb 20, 2009 8:37 pm

Suppose you have a fence made up of 100 brushes. You can select each brush (one at a time) & turn it into a func_breakable. Then go to the next brush & do the same thing. In the end you'll have 100 entities that can each be broken by the player individually. The better way is to select all 100 brushes, right click & select func_breakable. Now you have ONE entity that just happens to be made of multiple brushes. Get it? :wink: The only drawback is that the whole fence will break at once no matter where you shoot it. If you don't like that you could group sections of the fence. For instance having 4 breakable sections. Four entities is still much better than 100.
And personally, I wouldn't use func_static just to get a shorter compile time.
User avatar
ReD NeCKersoN
SG Team
 
Posts: 3245
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2002 6:22 am
Location: VA, USA



Postby MachoBastard » Fri Feb 20, 2009 8:48 pm

ok, let me see if i get it, for example if i select all the clipping i made for the ASE models and apply func_static, they all will count as ONE? but still work clipping like a brush?.. :?
User avatar
MachoBastard
SG Contributor
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 12:39 pm



PreviousNext

Return to Level Editing

Show Sidebar
Show Sidebar

User Control Panel