With cordite in the air, splintered steel, shell casings and powder burns, there’s only one explanation...
If you have any trouble with SG, this is the place to ask.

Moderator: Pardner

Error with SG svn r48 T_T

Postby HomeSlice » Tue May 19, 2009 3:36 pm

Hope this is the right place for this.

Compiling went fine. Symbolic linked openGL and openal already. The biggest problem I see is something like this:

Code: Select all
X Error of failed request: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
  Major opcode of failed request: 3
  Minor opcode of failed request: 0


...and a few other problems:

1) What is the autoexec.cfg? It says it couldn't exec it.
2) It says it can't load opengl32 from /etc/ld.so.conf...but it's there and it points says "include /etc/ld.so.conf.d/*.conf", which ld.so.conf.d contains only i486-linux-gnu.conf kde4.conf libasound2.conf libc.conf...I am not sure what to do there.

I googled them, but I couldn't really find any definite answer. If anyone can shed some light on this, I would really appreciate it. Thanks.

Code: Select all
UID 1000 EUID 1000
SG 1.0 linux-i386 Mar 29 2009
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
/home/willy/.smokinguns/smokinguns
./smokinguns
/home/willy/.q3a/smokinguns
/home/willy/.smokinguns/baseq3
./baseq3

----------------------
0 files in pk3 files
execing default.cfg
execing q3config.cfg
couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok

------- Input Initialization -------
Joystick is not active.
------------------------------------
----- Client Initialization -----
----- Initializing Renderer ----
-------------------------------
QKEY found.
----- Client Initialization Complete -----
----- R_Init -----
...loading opengl32: QGL_Init: Can't load opengl32 from /etc/ld.so.conf: opengl32: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
failed
...loading libGL.so: Initializing OpenGL display
...setting mode 6: 1024 768
Using XFree86-VidModeExtension Version 2.2
XF86DGA Mouse (Version 2.0) initialized
XFree86-VidModeExtension Activated at 1024x768
Using 4/4/4 Color bits, 24 depth, 0 stencil display.
X Error of failed request: BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes)
  Major opcode of failed request: 1
  Minor opcode of failed request: 0
  Serial number of failed request: 22
X Error of failed request: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
  Major opcode of failed request: 18
  Minor opcode of failed request: 0
  Serial number of failed request: 23
X Error of failed request: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
  Major opcode of failed request: 18
  Minor opcode of failed request: 0
  Serial number of failed request: 24
X Error of failed request: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
  Major opcode of failed request: 8
  Minor opcode of failed request: 0
  Serial number of failed request: 25
X Error of failed request: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
  Major opcode of failed request: 12
  Minor opcode of failed request: 0
  Serial number of failed request: 26
X Error of failed request: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
  Major opcode of failed request: 3
  Minor opcode of failed request: 0
  Serial number of failed request: 29
GL_RENDERER: (null)
----- CL_Shutdown -----
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
X Error of failed request: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
  Major opcode of failed request: 4
  Minor opcode of failed request: 0
  Serial number of failed request: 31
-----------------------
----- CL_Shutdown -----
-----------------------
Sys_Error: Q_strncpyz: NULL src
User avatar
HomeSlice
Drifter
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:06 am



Postby /dev/random » Tue May 19, 2009 5:01 pm

autoexec.cfg is a config like q3config.cfg. The only difference is, that modified cvars will be saved to q3config, but not autoexec.
So this is a method to have your important settings separated from the rest in a clean way :)
Furthermore, autoexec's settings overwrite those of q3config. Don't worry if you don't have an autoexec at all :D

The "failed request" errors are most likely due to the missing opengl.
Try

./smokinguns.i386 +set r_glDriver "/usr/lib/libGL.so"

The correct solution would be finding and creating the missing symlink :?
User avatar
/dev/random
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:58 pm



Postby HomeSlice » Tue May 19, 2009 10:46 pm

./smokinguns +set r_glDriver "/usr/lib/libGL.so" took care of the opengl part of the error, but the X Error still exists. T_T



Code: Select all
SG 1.0 linux-i386 Mar 29 2009
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
/home/willy/.smokinguns/smokinguns
./smokinguns
/home/willy/.q3a/smokinguns
/home/willy/.smokinguns/baseq3
./baseq3

----------------------
0 files in pk3 files
execing default.cfg
execing q3config.cfg
couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok

------- Input Initialization -------
Joystick is not active.
------------------------------------
----- Client Initialization -----
----- Initializing Renderer ----
-------------------------------
QKEY found.
----- Client Initialization Complete -----
----- R_Init -----
...loading /usr/lib/libGL.so: Initializing OpenGL display
...setting mode 6: 1024 768
Using XFree86-VidModeExtension Version 2.2
XF86DGA Mouse (Version 2.0) initialized
XFree86-VidModeExtension Activated at 1024x768
Using 4/4/4 Color bits, 24 depth, 0 stencil display.
X Error of failed request: BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes)
  Major opcode of failed request: 1
  Minor opcode of failed request: 0
  Serial number of failed request: 22
X Error of failed request: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
  Major opcode of failed request: 18
  Minor opcode of failed request: 0
  Serial number of failed request: 23
X Error of failed request: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
  Major opcode of failed request: 18
  Minor opcode of failed request: 0
  Serial number of failed request: 24
X Error of failed request: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
  Major opcode of failed request: 8
  Minor opcode of failed request: 0
  Serial number of failed request: 25
X Error of failed request: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
  Major opcode of failed request: 12
  Minor opcode of failed request: 0
  Serial number of failed request: 26
X Error of failed request: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
  Major opcode of failed request: 3
  Minor opcode of failed request: 0
  Serial number of failed request: 29
GL_RENDERER: (null)
----- CL_Shutdown -----
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
X Error of failed request: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
  Major opcode of failed request: 4
  Minor opcode of failed request: 0
  Serial number of failed request: 31
-----------------------
----- CL_Shutdown -----
-----------------------
Sys_Error: Q_strncpyz: NULL src
User avatar
HomeSlice
Drifter
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:06 am



Postby /dev/random » Wed May 20, 2009 5:09 pm

HomeSlice wrote:
Code: Select all
Sys_Error: Q_strncpyz: NULL src

This doesn't look good either. Maybe it's caused by the previous errors.

Anyways, does an earlier version work for you? Or any other (io)Quake3 based game? Your graphic card's driver might not be setup correctly.
User avatar
/dev/random
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:58 pm



Postby HomeSlice » Wed May 20, 2009 11:11 pm

ioquake3 definitely works (I have open arena on my machine).

I haven't tried the earlier version of SG. I am browsing on the SG svn branches, and it seems there is only 1.1, which is not a stable version...

So where can I find an earlier version? I would like to try that and see if I bump into the same X errors, etc.
User avatar
HomeSlice
Drifter
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:06 am



Postby Tequila » Thu May 21, 2009 3:57 pm

Hi,

do you have a 64 bit system ? If it's that the case, you should know you need to 32 bits packages for opengl (your driver card), SDL, X11, openal... as the released 1.0 is a 32 bits exe.

Btw, if ioQ3 is working well, you can also use that engine to start SG. You must use it with "+set fs_game smokinguns +set com_standalone 1", you may need also "+set sv_pure 0".

You should know also you can use the 1.1 branch engine to start the 1.0 game. The engine part of 1.1 branch is as stable as recent ioquake3 engine. That's only the 1.1 game part which is not completly stable. Btw it will be in very few weeks as I'm fixing the last critical bugs right now... stay tuned for that ;)
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1092
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France



Postby HomeSlice » Sat May 23, 2009 9:53 am

Hey Tequila,

I am running on 32-bit, so that is not the problem.

I will go ahead and try to do it thru ioQ3 later today. Looking forward to your 1.1 stable release.
User avatar
HomeSlice
Drifter
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:06 am




Return to Doc's Office

Show Sidebar
Show Sidebar

User Control Panel