With cordite in the air, splintered steel, shell casings and powder burns, there’s only one explanation...
If you have any trouble with SG, this is the place to ask.

Moderator: Pardner

Re: Bloom effect

Postby iLag » Mon Jan 28, 2013 2:04 am

Strange. Bloom works for me just fine in windowed mode on Linux 32-bit. And fullscreen mode. With standard modes. And with custom resolutions. In fact the only way for me to get bloom not to work was to turn it off.

Framebuffer settings:
Code: Select all
    r_ext_framebuffer_object = "1"
    r_ext_framebuffer_multisample = "0"
    r_ext_framebuffer_rotoscope_zedge = "0"
    r_ext_framebuffer_rotoscope = "0"
    r_ext_framebuffer_bloom_brightness = "0.85"
    r_ext_framebuffer_bloom_sharpness = "0.75"
    r_ext_framebuffer_blur_samples = "9"
    r_ext_framebuffer_blur_amount = "7"
    r_ext_framebuffer_blur_size = "256"
    r_ext_framebuffer_bloom = "1"
    r_ext_framebuffer = "1"


System Specs [inxi -F]:
Code: Select all
System:    Host: joel-mint-desktop Kernel: 3.2.0-36-generic i686 (32 bit) Desktop: N/A Distro: Linux Mint 13 Maya
Machine:   Mobo: ASUSTeK model: M2N-MX SE Plus version: Rev x.xx Bios: American Megatrends version: 0503 date: 03/26/2008
CPU:       Dual core AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 svm)
           Clock Speeds: 1: 2511.557 MHz 2: 2511.557 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA G92 [GeForce 9800 GT] X.Org: 1.11.3 driver: nvidia Resolution: 1440x900@59.9hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce 9800 GT/PCIe/SSE2/3DNOW! GLX Version: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 313.18
Audio:     Card: NVIDIA MCP61 High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel Sound: ALSA ver: 1.0.24
Network:   Card-1: NVIDIA MCP61 Ethernet driver: forcedeth
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: 00:1f:c6:be:30:15
           Card-2: Ralink RT2800 802.11n PCI driver: rt2800pci
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: 00:18:02:60:93:6e
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 250.1GB (65.9% used) 1: /dev/sda ST3250410AS 250.1GB
Partition: ID: / size: 164G used: 154G (100%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 4.29GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 43.0C mobo: 30.0C gpu: 62C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 1923 sys-1: 0
Info:      Processes: 135 Uptime: 9 min Memory: 665.9/2013.1MB Client: Shell inxi: 1.7.33
iLag
SG Contributor
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 3:02 am



Re: Bloom effect

Postby Pardner » Tue Feb 26, 2013 2:44 am

I'll just hijack this thread :twisted:

Is there a way to tweak the rotoscope effect? When I do it on maps like HangEmHigh, the insides of the buildings are all black.

Image
Image
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA



Re: Bloom effect

Postby Tequila » Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:16 am

Hi Pardner,

this effect should really be tweaked a little. The first thing I'm thinking about rotoscope effect is textures should be as simple as possible and more cartoon like.

Actually I'm still testing a feature a discovered in the engine working on the ioq3 renderer2 integration. This feature permits to control some effects directly from the game engine and I guess we could use that for rotoscope effect too. This feature will for example permit to apply a blur effect just when you're shot or when your're falling on the floor or in water...

Btw, can you tell us what you mean by "all black" ? Is it totally black or just very dark ?
I'll check later myself but you maybe have a bug with your graphics driver. What is your graphics hardware ?
:twisted:

Join Smokin'Guns community on Image
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1088
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France



Re: Bloom effect

Postby Pardner » Tue Feb 26, 2013 2:18 pm

ATI Radeon HD 4250 (on board video)

I think it is very dark. Once I step out into the light is looks great. Maps like dm_dry look wonderful, but the newer maps with darker areas are something of a problem.
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA



Re: Bloom effect

Postby Tequila » Tue Feb 26, 2013 2:31 pm

So this should be a texture problem.

I agree some textures may be too dark for that effect.

For that rotoscope effect, maybe a cartoon SG edition would help where all main textures could be revamped/tuned to better fit the rotoscope effect... Huge work I know. This would also need some tune in the code to select right textures when rotoscope effect would be activated and this where could help the renderer special effects management. So this is just possible.

Tuning the rotoscope effect is of course still possible.

Can you identify one or few texture files which could benefit from such feature and I'll do some tests ?

Join Smokin'Guns community on Image
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1088
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France



Previous

Return to Doc's Office

Show Sidebar
Show Sidebar

User Control Panel