With cordite in the air, splintered steel, shell casings and powder burns, there’s only one explanation...
If you have any trouble with SG, this is the place to ask.

Moderator: Pardner

Running Smokin Guns Problem

Postby Marcello » Sat Nov 08, 2014 12:47 pm

Howdy :twisted:
When I run Smokin Guns it says this: VM_Create on UI failed.Copy console log to clipboard?

It seems like a crash,how do I fix it?
Marcello
Drifter
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 5:41 pm
Location: Smokin' Guns



Re: Running Smokin Guns Problem

Postby TheDoctor » Sat Nov 08, 2014 1:40 pm

You are connecting to a server hosting a SG version you currently don't have. Try enabling downloads. If that doesn't help, describe which server you try to connect to and post the full error log (should be in your clipbard, see Ctrl+V).
Image
User avatar
TheDoctor
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 3:31 am



Re: Running Smokin Guns Problem

Postby Marcello » Sun Nov 09, 2014 7:35 pm

I can't even see servers unless I open Monster Browser,because I can't even open SinglePlayer mode..I run the game and it doesn't even open menu or anything,it instantly closes so MultiPlayer nor SinglePlayer work.
Here is the clipboard of error:

Smokin' Guns 1.1_SVN642 win_mingw-x86 May 28 2012
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
C:\Users\Ivan\AppData\Roaming\Smokin' Guns/smokinguns
C:\Program Files\Smokin' Guns\smokinguns\included_fanpak0.pk3 (224 files)
C:\Program Files\Smokin' Guns/smokinguns
C:\Users\Ivan\AppData\Roaming\Smokin' Guns/baseq3
C:\Program Files\Smokin' Guns\baseq3\pak0.pk3 (101 files)
C:\Program Files\Smokin' Guns/baseq3

----------------------
325 files in pk3 files
execing default.cfg
couldn't exec q3config.cfg
couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
----- Client Initialization -----
Couldn't read q3history.
----- Initializing Renderer ----
-------------------------------
Smokin' Guns checks on
QKEY found.
----- Client Initialization Complete -----
----- R_Init -----
SDL_Init( SDL_INIT_VIDEO ) FAILED (No available video device)
SDL using driver "windib"
Initializing OpenGL display
Estimated display aspect: 1.333
...setting mode 4: 800 600
Using 8/8/8 Color bits, 24 depth, 8 stencil display.
Available modes: '640x480 800x600 1024x768'
GL_RENDERER: GDI Generic
Initializing OpenGL extensions
...GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc not found
...GL_S3_s3tc not found
...GL_EXT_texture_env_add not found
...GL_ARB_multitexture not found
...GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array not found
...GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic not found

GL_VENDOR: Microsoft Corporation
GL_RENDERER: GDI Generic
GL_VERSION: 1.1.0
GL_EXTENSIONS: GL_WIN_swap_hint GL_EXT_bgra GL_EXT_paletted_texture
GL_MAX_TEXTURE_SIZE: 1024
GL_MAX_TEXTURE_UNITS_ARB: 0

PIXELFORMAT: color(24-bits) Z(24-bit) stencil(8-bits)
MODE: 4, 800 x 600 fullscreen hz:N/A
GAMMA: software w/ 0 overbright bits
rendering primitives: multiple glArrayElement
texturemode: GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_NEAREST
picmip: 1
texture bits: 0
multitexture: disabled
compiled vertex arrays: disabled
texenv add: disabled
compressed textures: disabled
^3WARNING: Framebuffer rendering path disabled
Initializing Shaders
glGetError() = 0x500
----- finished R_Init -----
------ Initializing Sound ------
Loading "OpenAL32.dll"...
Failed to open OpenAL device.
SDL_Init( SDL_INIT_AUDIO )... OK
SDL audio driver is "dsound".
SDL_OpenAudio() failed: DirectSoundCreate: No audio device found
Sound initialization failed.
--------------------------------
Loading vm file vm/ui.qvm...
Failed.
----- Client Shutdown (Client fatal crashed: VM_Create on UI failed) -----
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
-----------------------
Last edited by Marcello on Wed Nov 12, 2014 4:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Marcello
Drifter
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 5:41 pm
Location: Smokin' Guns



Re: Running Smokin Guns Problem

Postby TheDoctor » Sun Nov 09, 2014 8:11 pm

Marcello wrote:I run the game and it doesn't even open menu or anything; it instantly closes

OK, this is a different problem then. According to your error log, SG complains about both video and audio functionality.
error log wrote:SDL_Init( SDL_INIT_VIDEO ) FAILED (No available video device)
SDL using driver "windib"
:
^3WARNING: Framebuffer rendering path disabled
Initializing Shaders
glGetError() = 0x500
Do you have a 3d video driver installed? Do other IOQuake3 games (such as OpenArena, Urban Terror) work on your computer?

error log wrote::
Failed to open OpenAL device.
SDL_Init( SDL_INIT_AUDIO )... OK
SDL audio driver is "dsound".
SDL_OpenAudio() failed: DirectSoundCreate: No audio device found
:
Not sure whether SG would exit, if it cannot initialize sound. I assume, you have a computer with soundcard or sound chip onboard and it is correctly working. You could try to open C:\Users\Ivan\AppData\Roaming\Smokin' Guns\smokinguns\q3config.cfg in Notepad and change the line seta s_useOpenAL "1" to seta s_useOpenAL "0". If that doesn't help, undo the change.

What version of Windows are you using? What graphics card do you use?
Image
User avatar
TheDoctor
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 3:31 am



Re: Running Smokin Guns Problem

Postby Barto » Mon Nov 10, 2014 5:42 pm

I'd bet more on a sound issue even if all remark of TheDoctor are totally relevant.

A config reset (removing q3config.cfg in your %AppData%) is worth to attempt too.

I would also try to attempt to install OpenAL just to make sure you do have the right *.dll-s at the right place. Sadly the original link is dead but it seems a random guy on the internet uploaded the file back there.
"Chuck Norris had to shorten his beard in the presence of Richard Stallman because two beards that awesome, so close would segfault the universe (again)."
User avatar
Barto
Jeuxlinux Admin
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 5:08 pm
Location: Switzerland



Re: Running Smokin Guns Problem

Postby Marcello » Tue Nov 11, 2014 11:03 pm

Howdy! 8)
I couldn't find q3config..there was only qkey.
Maybe my installation wasn't correct or it's corrupt.

Acer Aspire 5738
Pentium(R)Dual-Core CPU T4300 @ 2.10GHz
Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570

Last time I've played SG was like month ago,so not so long..
I've deleted it from my PC because I had no time to play.
Few days ago I've downloaded it back and this error has occured.
I have never had problems with SG before.

Any clue on how to fix this?
Marcello
Drifter
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 5:41 pm
Location: Smokin' Guns



Re: Running Smokin Guns Problem

Postby TheDoctor » Wed Nov 12, 2014 7:20 am

Marcello wrote:Last time I've played SG was like month ago. ... Any clue on how to fix this?

And you haven't changed anything driver-related since then? Then my best guess would be to deinstall and install SG again under a path like C:\Games\Smokin' Gun\, i.e. not C:\Program Files\Smokin' Guns\.
Image
User avatar
TheDoctor
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 3:31 am



Re: Running Smokin Guns Problem

Postby Marcello » Wed Nov 12, 2014 4:00 pm

I haven't made any changes.
Thanks for your help,I'll try to reinstall SG.
Peace :lol:
Marcello
Drifter
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 5:41 pm
Location: Smokin' Guns




Return to Doc's Office

Show Sidebar
Show Sidebar

User Control Panel