With cordite in the air, splintered steel, shell casings and powder burns, there’s only one explanation...
Everything about Smokin' Guns releases

Moderators: Tequila, torhu

Buy Menu bug

Postby CoolHand » Tue Nov 03, 2009 5:24 am

I notice the buy menu bug is still around.... Any chance of that being fixed b4 the final release? I can't count how many times I've been killed while trying to get that stupid menu to go away after I buy something...
CoolHand
Pistolero
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 3:16 am



Postby Crank » Tue Nov 03, 2009 3:33 pm

simply press b :wink:
sorry for my english :)
User avatar
Crank
Drifter
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Austria



Postby moRtem » Tue Nov 03, 2009 5:30 pm

Crank wrote:simply press b :wink:


if 'b' (or whatever you bound 'buy' to) doesn't work, sometimes ESC works

--

however, either ESC or 'b' works every time


/quit
User avatar
moRtem
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 5:56 pm



Postby /dev/random » Tue Nov 03, 2009 6:12 pm

What about the right Mousebutton?
User avatar
/dev/random
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:58 pm



Postby torhu » Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:41 pm

In 1.1 only Esc and RMB work, the key used for opening the menu won't close it anymore. It had to change because of the ioquake port.
In game: =SG=monSter
Monster Browser
User avatar
torhu
SG Team
 
Posts: 1111
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 8:12 pm
Location: Norway



Postby Sucalakafufu » Wed Nov 04, 2009 10:16 pm

nice torhu.

also, if your buying by clicking on the weapon and the buy menu doesnt disappear, i don't think that's a bug. its more like what happens when u buy by clicking. its just how the game works. so if you dont like the screen not disappearing then buy with the keys :)
SG Name: Sucalakafufu
Clan: [CWNN] - Clan With No Name
User avatar
Sucalakafufu
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 239
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:59 am



Postby Redwing » Sat Nov 21, 2009 4:25 am

I'm running 1.2, and this really annoys me. Basically, this is what happens--

buying by number keys works fine, the menu closes after an item is bought. But, if I buy by mouse (which I do often), I have to press Escape THEN B to close the menu. Neither Escape or B alone will close it, and B then Escape only opens the menu. It's really obnoxious and has definitely gotten me killed several times... I'm so conditioned to using Escape alone from 1.0 and I never remember to jump back to B.
DeviantArt|Music
Jesus wrote:Blessed are the Peacemakers, for they will be called the sons of God
User avatar
Redwing
Shootist
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 8:50 pm



Postby torhu » Sat Nov 21, 2009 5:05 am

B won't close the buy menu in the 1.1 betas, are you sure you're not talking about 1.0?

In any case, pressing the right mouse button should also close the menu.
In game: =SG=monSter
Monster Browser
User avatar
torhu
SG Team
 
Posts: 1111
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 8:12 pm
Location: Norway



Postby Pardner » Sat Nov 21, 2009 4:43 pm

torhu, I think there may be a bug when using the the new binaries on an old server. If you connect to the old 1.0 server with the 1.1b* binaries, you will get the old buy menu bug every time if you:
  1. Press B to bring up the buy menu
  2. Select you gun by using the menu
  3. Press B again thinking it will close the menu, but it won't
  4. Press ESC.... this wont close the buy menu, but it will open the ESC menu over the buy menu

I do not get this problem when connecting to a 1.1b2 server nor durring SP mode.

Image
Image
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA



Postby torhu » Sat Nov 21, 2009 7:32 pm

Ok, thanks Pardner. It's caused by a change in the ioquake3 engine. It's probably not worth it to do this differently in the SG 1.1 engine, as it's only a problem when using the 1.0 qvm files.

I suggest trying to get used to using the right mouse button to close the menu. ;)
In game: =SG=monSter
Monster Browser
User avatar
torhu
SG Team
 
Posts: 1111
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 8:12 pm
Location: Norway



Postby Pardner » Sat Nov 21, 2009 7:42 pm

or using the buy numbers: b13=peacemakers,etc
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA



Postby Sucalakafufu » Sun Nov 22, 2009 12:34 am

Pardner wrote:or using the buy numbers: b13=peacemakers,etc


exactly! :P
SG Name: Sucalakafufu
Clan: [CWNN] - Clan With No Name
User avatar
Sucalakafufu
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 239
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:59 am



Postby zed » Fri Dec 04, 2009 2:55 pm

torhu wrote:In 1.1 only Esc and RMB work, the key used for opening the menu won't close it anymore. It had to change because of the ioquake port.

Can you make the key configurable?

Anyway, I always use numbers to buy things. However, what I find annoying is that the buy menu won't close itself when I cannot afford a certain item :x. Can't you make the menu close itself after input of any valid combination (eg. buy-5-1) or invalid combination (eg. buy-4-2)?

Some maps are notorious for spawn killings (dm_train), and therefore, your life depends on quick buying and not being stuck in the buy menu.
zed
Drifter
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 3:54 pm



Postby torhu » Sat Dec 05, 2009 6:04 am

Making the menu close itself when you try to buy a weapon you can't afford sounds reasonable to me. But then you'd have to open the menu again if you want to buy a cheaper weapon instead. To some people that would probably be just as annoying. And after a while you know the prices by heart, so you know what you can and cannot buy, just from a quick look at the HUD.

Anyone else have an opinion either way? :)
In game: =SG=monSter
Monster Browser
User avatar
torhu
SG Team
 
Posts: 1111
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 8:12 pm
Location: Norway



Postby Pardner » Sat Dec 05, 2009 4:30 pm

how did 1.0 handle it? Thats the way I like it.
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA



Next

Return to Release

Show Sidebar
Show Sidebar

User Control Panel