With cordite in the air, splintered steel, shell casings and powder burns, there’s only one explanation...
Everything about Smokin' Guns releases

Moderators: Tequila, torhu

Postby Tequila » Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:21 pm

mLy! wrote:when connecting to 1.1b3 server I get kicked with error:
CM_inlinemodel: bad number

using the update zip 1.1b3 files
windows xp

Can you open a thread dumping your console output with the error ? You may just upload the output on pastebin and provide the link.
Thanks
8)
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1090
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France



Postby moRtem » Sun Dec 13, 2009 8:11 pm

mLy! wrote:when connecting to 1.1b3 server I get kicked with error:
CM_inlinemodel: bad number

using the update zip 1.1b3 files
windows xp


In case you installed 1.1b3 the way you told twig, then you updated it the wrong way.

Correct way:

1) make a copy of your SG 1.0 (or previous 1.1-release)

2) extract the full 1.1b3-package using the path of the copy you just created and agree on replacing files, if winzip (or w/e program) asks you


/quit
User avatar
moRtem
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 5:56 pm



Postby Pardner » Sun Dec 13, 2009 8:51 pm

mLy! wrote:when connecting to 1.1b3 server I get kicked with error:
CM_inlinemodel: bad number

using the update zip 1.1b3 files
windows xp

moRtem wrote:In case you installed 1.1b3 the way you told twig,


Err... twig and mLy! are two different people right?
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA



Postby mLy! » Mon Dec 14, 2009 1:24 pm

got it working now with the full b3 package
My Latest fragmovies:
Winning BB cup
User avatar
mLy!
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 8:46 pm



Postby dowoshek » Mon Dec 14, 2009 3:56 pm

torhu wrote:
dowoshek wrote:I want to test b3 at WinXP SP3 and can't run smokinguns.exe, only mingw32-crosscompiled works for me, but it works a bit too slow on my old PC. I tried also .exe optimized for SSE but the result is the same: i got error message, what I can translate from polish as:

"You can't run this file becuse it has bad configuration. It may be solved by reinstallation of the program."

I had the same problem with b2, but mingw32-crosscompiled worked a bit faster than in b3, so I didn't care...

Works fine when I try it in XP. Would be interesting to know what the exact English error message is, so I can google it. Anyone with English XP get the same message?

Problem solved. I had to install some additional VC++ stuff.

The first thing I'd like to say: beta3 works much slower than 1.0 - I tried to set configuration as in my 1.0 and it works not so smooth :( It looks like I'll have to resign from more stuff - in fact I have not much more possibilities than resolution decreasing, so looks like hard time comes for me :(
User avatar
dowoshek
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 12:29 pm
Location: Poland



Postby Tequila » Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:02 pm

dowoshek wrote:The first thing I'd like to say: beta3 works much slower than 1.0 - I tried to set configuration as in my 1.0 and it works not so smooth :( It looks like I'll have to resign from more stuff - in fact I have not much more possibilities than resolution decreasing, so looks like hard time comes for me :(

Can you verify you didn't activate an OpenGL extension you should not ? like Anti-aliasing or anisotropic filtering ?
Btw can you create a demo under SG 1.0 reporting your average FPS ? And try it under SG 1.1 and tell us the new average FPS ?
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1090
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France



Postby moRtem » Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:31 pm

Pardner wrote:
moRtem wrote:In case you installed 1.1b3 the way you told twig,


Err... twig and mLy! are two different people right?


"In case mLy installed 1.1b3 the way mLy told twig the day before..."


/quit
User avatar
moRtem
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 5:56 pm



Postby dowoshek » Mon Dec 14, 2009 9:15 pm

Tequila wrote:
dowoshek wrote:The first thing I'd like to say: beta3 works much slower than 1.0 - I tried to set configuration as in my 1.0 and it works not so smooth :( It looks like I'll have to resign from more stuff - in fact I have not much more possibilities than resolution decreasing, so looks like hard time comes for me :(

Can you verify you didn't activate an OpenGL extension you should not ? like Anti-aliasing or anisotropic filtering ?

Yes, settings are same as in 1.0.
Alamo and the new Lake map are very laggy, but for example Mexico works fine (just like in 1.0), so I wonder if Alamo was modified in any way relating to 1.0 version.
User avatar
dowoshek
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 12:29 pm
Location: Poland



Postby torhu » Tue Dec 15, 2009 2:03 am

dowoshek wrote:Problem solved. I had to install some additional VC++ stuff.

What exactly did you have to install? smokinguns.exe and the included DLL's are not supposed to require anything that doesn't come with Windows.
In game: =SG=monSter
Monster Browser
User avatar
torhu
SG Team
 
Posts: 1113
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 8:12 pm
Location: Norway



Postby ReD NeCKersoN » Tue Dec 15, 2009 2:29 am

dowoshek wrote:Alamo and the new Lake map are very laggy, but for example Mexico works fine (just like in 1.0), so I wonder if Alamo was modified in any way relating to 1.0 version.

Alamo is unchanged from 1.0 in 1.1b3
Lake can be a little laggy due to it's open layout & high polycount. Especially if you might have older hardware.
Image
User avatar
ReD NeCKersoN
SG Team
 
Posts: 3245
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2002 6:22 am
Location: VA, USA



Postby dowoshek » Tue Dec 15, 2009 9:30 am

torhu wrote:
dowoshek wrote:Problem solved. I had to install some additional VC++ stuff.

What exactly did you have to install? smokinguns.exe and the included DLL's are not supposed to require anything that doesn't come with Windows.

I had to install this:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en
User avatar
dowoshek
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 12:29 pm
Location: Poland



Postby sparcdr » Tue Dec 15, 2009 9:38 am

Typical troubleshooting steps:

1. Reinstall Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 SP1 Redistributable Package
2. Install OpenAL runtime
3. Remove SG
4. In Explorer window, navigate to %appdata%
5. Remove SmokinGuns and Smokin' Guns folders from 4.
6. Install SG to disk
7. Extract ZIP over SG install location and answer yes to replace
8. Try running again
9. (If 7 still fails) Upgrade video drivers
10. See 7.
sparcdr
SG Team
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 3:41 pm



Postby sparcdr » Tue Dec 15, 2009 9:41 am

torhu wrote:not supposed to require anything that doesn't come with Windows.
Microsoft upgrades these runtimes over time to fix security issues, and is to be expected since I have applied those to the compiler so what I build in turn requires people to have the patches applied (But not always, just XP usually)
sparcdr
SG Team
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 3:41 pm



Postby dowoshek » Tue Dec 15, 2009 10:26 am

Actually I had to install version 2005 SP1, because 2008 SP1 didn't help me.
User avatar
dowoshek
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 12:29 pm
Location: Poland



Postby torhu » Tue Dec 15, 2009 2:51 pm

sparcdr wrote:Microsoft upgrades these runtimes over time to fix security issues, and is to be expected since I have applied those to the compiler so what I build in turn requires people to have the patches applied (But not always, just XP usually)

Sure, but only regular Windows automatic updates are required, no msvc redistributables. Right?
In game: =SG=monSter
Monster Browser
User avatar
torhu
SG Team
 
Posts: 1113
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 8:12 pm
Location: Norway



PreviousNext

Return to Release

Show Sidebar
Show Sidebar

User Control Panel