With cordite in the air, splintered steel, shell casings and powder burns, there’s only one explanation...
Everything about Smokin' Guns releases

Moderators: Tequila, torhu

Other 1.1b3 map bugs

Postby SmokeyBacon » Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:32 pm

I found a bug in Durango that I naver saw in 1.0:

3 map ground seams near the exit. EDIT: There is a 4th close to the gate.

Image
User avatar
SmokeyBacon
Shootist
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 9:25 pm
Location: Stuttgart



Postby Pardner » Tue Dec 15, 2009 1:51 am

:cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

Well, I thought this was fixed. If you notice the rest of the shadows are nice and defined. I tried implementing the "high res lightmap" to durango and santascruz. Durango gave me troubles but I guess I didn't get them all fixed (or I added the wrong compile). Will get this fixed for the next release.

Image
Image
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA



Postby Pardner » Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:24 am

Can you confirm that you have the 1.1b3 version of durango?

Here is a bug that is fixed in the newest version. Could you check to see if this bug has been fixed in your version?
[thumb=http://forum.smokin-guns.org/userpix/357_3451_bug1_1_1.jpg][timg]357_3451_bug1_1_1.jpg[/timg][/thumb]

I tested the 1.1b3 version and I don't see the seams. If you do have the newest version of durango, then maybe we have a video card problem.

Could anyone else confirm this problem?
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA



Postby ReD NeCKersoN » Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:42 am

Pardner wrote:I tested the 1.1b3 version and I don't see the seams.

Same here? No problem on my end. Nvidia graphics card on XP.
Image
User avatar
ReD NeCKersoN
SG Team
 
Posts: 3245
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2002 6:22 am
Location: VA, USA



Postby moRtem » Tue Dec 15, 2009 9:35 am

it might be possible that he played on a pure 1.0 server like jeuxlinux. --- this would load the old version of the map still


/quit
User avatar
moRtem
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 5:56 pm



Postby Pardner » Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:01 pm

the 1.0 version does not have a high res lightmap, therefore no shadow seams. Unfortunately, I think 1.1b2 version did not have a highres light map either. The fact that Red and I don't see the seams posses a problem.
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA



Postby SmokeyBacon » Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:40 pm

Dang, sorry, I cant for the life of me remember exactly what server this was on, sorry guys. I am using the 1.1b3 executable and files all the time now, and 1.0 servers seem to work fine for me.

I have a feeling this was on one of the betas, I recall we were just mucking around and trying some tricks, cowboy towers etc. So this might have been on a beta server.
User avatar
SmokeyBacon
Shootist
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 9:25 pm
Location: Stuttgart



Postby ReD NeCKersoN » Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:42 pm

Try loading the map in single player & have a look?
User avatar
ReD NeCKersoN
SG Team
 
Posts: 3245
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2002 6:22 am
Location: VA, USA



Postby Pardner » Tue Dec 15, 2009 6:08 pm

Pardner wrote:Here is a bug that is fixed in the newest version. Could you check to see if this bug has been fixed in your version?
[thumb=http://forum.smokin-guns.org/userpix/357_3451_bug1_1_1.jpg][timg]357_3451_bug1_1_1.jpg[/timg][/thumb]


And while in single player mode, check to see if this bug is there. If it is, then its an old map. If is not, then durango is broke!
User avatar
Pardner
SG Team
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:48 am
Location: MD, USA



Postby SmokeyBacon » Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:29 pm

The small bug between the store and the cliff wall is fixed in single player using the 1.1b3 exe and map files - and the seams near the exit are still there. So it must be something which appeared in 1.1b3.
User avatar
SmokeyBacon
Shootist
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 9:25 pm
Location: Stuttgart



Postby ChainLightnin' » Tue Dec 15, 2009 9:53 pm

On my Vista, Nvidia 9500, 1920x1200 highres setup, IF i stand right on the main grade transition looking down the seam, it looks as shown. But otherwise you can run all over there and it just doesn't catch your eye. The map seems to look really good on this rig.
[thumb=http://forum.smokin-guns.org/userpix/589_seam_1.jpg][timg]589_seam_1.jpg[/timg][/thumb]
Well...Mr. Chain Blue Lightnin' hisself..heh, heh!
User avatar
ChainLightnin'
Gunslinger
 
Posts: 389
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 4:09 am
Location: Montana




Return to Release

Show Sidebar
Show Sidebar

User Control Panel