With cordite in the air, splintered steel, shell casings and powder burns, there’s only one explanation...
Everything about Smokin' Guns releases

Moderators: torhu, Tequila

Is this Release Candidate suitable as the 1.1 release ?

Yes
10
100%
No (explain why)
0
No votes
 
Total votes : 10

Beta testing in 1.1 RC2

Postby Tequila » Sat May 05, 2012 11:40 am

The Second Release Candidate is ready.

You can download the archive from our Official Site.

You can also download it from our ModDB download page.

size wrote:418Mb

md5sum wrote:c339a9d1e0fff2b2e632525feed1eb95

sha1sum wrote:5178e40898573ed3f42d325b94f1e08dfd99510b

Download, unzip and try it. Then tell us if you think this release should be the final one.

Before posting your comments or report your problem, don't forget to check previous candidate release topic.

Also I just renamed the old "SG 1.1 beta testing" forum to Release so you can continue to check relevant topic and eventually open new topic for this RC.
:twisted:
Last edited by Tequila on Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:29 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: Added sha1sum and size
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1072
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France



Re: Beta testing in 1.1 RC2

Postby /dev/random » Sat May 05, 2012 2:50 pm

Just for completeness' sake

Code: Select all
$ sha1sum sg_1.1rc2.zip
5178e40898573ed3f42d325b94f1e08dfd99510b  sg_1.1rc2.zip
$ du --si sg_1.1rc2.zip
418M   sg_1.1rc2.zip


Disclaimer: I didn't follow the entire previous thread.
Why are there no 64 bit linux executables?
Why are there no 1.1rc1 and 1.1rc2 tags in svn?
User avatar
/dev/random
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:58 pm



Re: Beta testing in 1.1 RC2

Postby Tequila » Sat May 05, 2012 3:00 pm

Thank you /dev/random, I updated the first post.

/dev/random wrote:Disclaimer: I didn't follow the entire previous thread.
Why are there no 64 bit linux executables?
Why are there no 1.1rc1 and 1.1rc2 tags in svn?

I think Joe Kari will respond after the week-end (this is a long week-end in France with holidays...). He prepared himself the archive.

About the SVN tags, I think he just forgot this is a good practice :?

Please Joe Kari, tag the expected SVN release, I know you can ;)

Join Smokin'Guns community on Image
User avatar
Tequila
SG Team
 
Posts: 1072
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Montpellier, France



Re: Beta testing in 1.1 RC2

Postby TheDoctor » Sat May 05, 2012 8:36 pm

Tequila wrote:The Second Release Candidate is ready.

I have tested it and so far I have found nothing wrong. SG1.1RC2 Special Bude is a SG1.1RC2 server (content and cgame-wise). Feel free to test it via \connect bb.smokin-guns.org:27961 ;-)
Last edited by TheDoctor on Sat May 05, 2012 10:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
TheDoctor
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 662
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 3:31 am



Re: Beta testing in 1.1 RC2

Postby Biondo » Sat May 05, 2012 9:29 pm

Why everybody uses those [size=200]ugly and text effects lat[/size]ely?

I would like to see them disabled, when forum will be active again. But it's just a personal point of view.
User avatar
Biondo
SG Website Designer
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 4:35 pm



Re: Beta testing in 1.1 RC2

Postby TheDoctor » Sat May 05, 2012 10:43 pm

Biondo wrote:Why?

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Image
User avatar
TheDoctor
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 662
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 3:31 am



Re: Beta testing in 1.1 RC2

Postby Biondo » Sat May 05, 2012 10:51 pm

LOL :)

BTW, don't expect too many votes here. I haven't voted, but I'm not allowed to vote. I suppose it has something to do with the fact that I already voted in previous release ... Probably a new poll should be opened.
User avatar
Biondo
SG Website Designer
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 4:35 pm



Re: Beta testing in 1.1 RC2

Postby Biondo » Sat May 05, 2012 11:08 pm

TheDoctor wrote:is a SG1.1RC2 server (content and cgame-wise). Feel free to test it


TheDoctor, someone told me that today in Baller, new players have problem connecting. They connect and suddenly disconnect. I can testify that it happened also when I was playing. Don't know if it's a problem related to "allow downloading", but I suppose it shouldn't.

For your info: I can connect using RC 1 (haven't tested RC 2 yet).
User avatar
Biondo
SG Website Designer
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 4:35 pm



Re: Beta testing in 1.1 RC2

Postby TheDoctor » Sun May 06, 2012 12:19 am

Biondo wrote:it's a problem related to "allow downloading"

yes, that very likely is the issue here. Unfortunately, there is nothing I can do until SG1.1 is officially released. Then I'll switch BB to SG1.1 a.s.a.p. (like I switched SB to SG1.1RC2 today).
Image
User avatar
TheDoctor
Smokin' Amigo!
 
Posts: 662
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 3:31 am



Re: Beta testing in 1.1 RC2

Postby sunrise » Sun May 06, 2012 6:42 pm

Is there a changelog?
If there isnt any, can anybody explain me the differences between 1.1b5a , 1.1RC1 and 1.1RC2.
I found this https://github.com/tapio/smokinguns/blob/8e74f8d38625bb1cf3b6fc3fdbf0f249a33cbf9a/ChangeLog, but it doesnt seem to be uptodate.
sunrise
Pistolero
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 6:05 pm



Re: Beta testing in 1.1 RC2

Postby Bodie » Sun May 06, 2012 8:03 pm

Did you put cl_timenudge into dumpuser's content?
SG names: Bodie (aka mS // Donnie).
Admin on Jeuxlinux, RAWHIDE, #sg.wars and some other servers.
User avatar
Bodie
Jeuxlinux Admin
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 7:59 pm



Re: Beta testing in 1.1 RC2

Postby Barto » Sun May 06, 2012 8:09 pm

@sunrise, this changelog is really outdated. I suggest you to use the real ChangeLog from the official SG source code repo on svn here: sourceforge.

I just found something weird into the rc2. If you record a demo named "gameplay" for example, it will create a .dm_68 file named "gameplay.dm_68", everything is fine there. But then it will get displayed as "GAMEPLAY" into the game UI. And if you want to play it back again, the game will try to load "GAMEPLAY.dm_68" which will cause an error because "GAMEPLAY.dm_68" differs from "gameplay.dm_68". Instead, you will have to use the /demo gameplay command.

--EDIT--
Link changed to a non-fixed svn release
Last edited by Barto on Sun May 06, 2012 9:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Chuck Norris had to shorten his beard in the presence of Richard Stallman because two beards that awesome, so close would segfault the universe (again)."
User avatar
Barto
Jeuxlinux Admin
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 5:08 pm
Location: Switzerland



Re: Beta testing in 1.1 RC2

Postby Biondo » Sun May 06, 2012 9:25 pm

I think this UPPER/lowercase problem was also present in previous releases. I got mad changing demos names, one time to all UPPERcase, next time to all lowercase, and another one to UPPERcase with lowercase extension :)
I thought it was only a problem related to my configuration, but now I have to say that I'd like it got solved in next release (not in SG 1.1).
User avatar
Biondo
SG Website Designer
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 4:35 pm



Re: Beta testing in 1.1 RC2

Postby Gorn » Wed May 09, 2012 4:26 pm

Hi,

I have report many bugs in 1.1b4 ...
Is that the bugs have been fixed ?

Score Limite : http://forum.smokin-guns.org/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=2358
Fire + dynamite : http://forum.smokin-guns.org/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=2359
Team Deathmatch : http://forum.smokin-guns.org/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=2360
Open Door on ladder : http://forum.smokin-guns.org/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=2361
Invisible Fire : http://forum.smokin-guns.org/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=2362

I will test this version. :twisted:

Edit:
I test the MS Windows version.
- Bug "Score Limit" not tested
- Bug "Fire + dynamite" (not a blocking bug)
- Bug "Team Deathmatch" not fixed ! (bug not present in 1.0)
- Bug "Open Door on ladder" not fixed ! (bug not present in 1.0)
- Bug "Invisible Fire" (graphic card i think)
Gorn
Drifter
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 3:17 pm



Re: Beta testing in 1.1 RC2

Postby garbanzo » Fri May 11, 2012 3:58 pm

Hi everyone, members and devs.
I've been playing SG for some years once in a while, and right now I'm with beta 4 which is quite good.
The game is very cool, very good ambient music and effects, and by the way I'm using the Linux version. Just keep on the nice work !
But... i want to test RC2 and unfortunately there are no 64 bit executables!
Can these be provided/built ?
I could help on finding bugs, you know.
Anyway, i hope someone here sees my request and say something about as when they will be available. :twisted:

Cheers !
garbanzo
Drifter
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 3:49 pm



Next

Return to Release

Show Sidebar
Show Sidebar

User Control Panel